Is migration assistant a good idea?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by wakevortex, May 30, 2019.

  1. wakevortex macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    #1
    Hi all
    I need to set up a new MacBook pro (latest) to mirror as much as possible my music programs on a Mac pro (running Sierra)
    I know its IDEAL to do a clean install of all programs on the new machine, but I have a LOT of plugins and music apps...!!!
    How effective is Migration assistant in these circumstances if I do it immediately before even setting up a user on the new MacBook pro ?

    any help appreciated !

    thanks

    Bill P
     
  2. MSastre macrumors 6502

    MSastre

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    #2

    In your case migration assistant will probably be ok since the OS is already installed on your new Mac. When I switch to a new OS on an older machine, I always do a clean Install, then download my apps from the App store or their source when possible, then migrate everything else that I want to keep.
     
  3. wakevortex thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    #3
    Thanks for that...I’m hoping that is the case..I know I may have some auth issues etc but If it all comes across from the Sierra Mac Pro to the Mojave MacBook , that would be a BIG time saver !!!

    BIll p
     
  4. techwarrior macrumors 65816

    techwarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #4
    You should end up with a new machine that is virtually identical to the old one, at least that has been my experience for the 3-4 times I have used MA. The apps, settings, plugins, etc should all migrate seemlessly.

    You will want to check out compatibility of the apps with Mojave, upgrade before hand if possible. Else, the MA may not migrate those apps, or may be incompatible when you first launch them.

    The best way to do it is before setting up a user account on the new Mac. That way, it will import your old account into the new machine. If you have a Time Machine backup on USB3 drive, that will be faster than pulling everything over from the network.
     
  5. wakevortex thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    #5
    That sounds very promising indeed ! I already use Carbon Copy Cloner to keep daily backups, will I need a Time Machine backup to make the migration easier?
    thats not not an issue..I can run one off on an external drive in advance ..

    thanks

    Bill P
     
  6. sracer macrumors G3

    sracer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    #6
    Excellent advice here.

    My first hand experience with Migration Assistant has been surprisingly smooth and trouble-free every time I've used it.

    @techwarrior is absolutely correct about software/OS compatibility. That is the type of thing that bites you in the end.
     
  7. wakevortex thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    #7
    Great...Im pretty sure I'm up to date on my main programs I use , but will do a good check first !

    cheers

    Bill P
     
  8. techwarrior macrumors 65816

    techwarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #8
    CC Clones will put the old OS image on the new Mac. That could be a problem, newer Macs probably have hardware that is not supported in older OS versions. Clones are best for re-imaging a drive on the same Mac.

    I haven't used CC in years, if you can run MA using the cloned image, that would seem to do the same thing, just not sure if MA is compatible with clones? Look into the documentation for the app.
     
  9. wakevortex thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    #9
    Yes good point, though I was wondering if migration assistant would just pick up the files it needs from the CCC backup (its just the same directory structure as the original) ...anyway to be safe I think I will use Time Machine :) :)

    thanks again !

    Bill P
     
  10. MSastre, May 31, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2019

    MSastre macrumors 6502

    MSastre

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    #10
    Migration Assistant works well from clones. I've done that several times. As long as you have updated clones of your main drive, I see no reason whatsoever for Time Machine and have never bothered using it.
     
  11. wakevortex thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    #11
    I have a CCC and time machine now so hopefully covered all bases :) :)

    thanks !

    Bill P
     
  12. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #12
    OP asked:
    "That sounds very promising indeed ! I already use Carbon Copy Cloner to keep daily backups, will I need a Time Machine backup to make the migration easier?"

    If you have a current CCC backup, Migration Assistant (or Setup Assistant when you first boot up) works just fine with it.

    In fact, I predict that the migration will go FASTER using a CCC backup than it will using a TM backup.

    Do it this way:
    a. Unpack new Mac, and set it on the table. DO NOT press the power on button yet.
    b. On the old Mac, do one last CCC backup, to "capture" the old Mac "just as it was" before the changeover.
    c. Take the CCC backup drive and connect it to the NEW Mac, then press the power on button for the first time.
    d. Begin setup. At the appropriate moment, setup assistant will ask if you wish to migrate data from another drive. YES, you do, so...
    e. "Aim" setup assistant at the CCC backup and give it some time to digest everything on it. BE PATIENT.
    f. Setup assistant will present you with a list of stuff to migrate. Unless your new drive is SMALLER THAN your old drive, just accept the defaults and "go".
    g. Again, BE PATIENT. It's going to take some time.
    h. When done, you should see a login display and once you login, it should look "just like the old one looked" -- except it's on the NEW Mac.
     
  13. wakevortex thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    #13
    Thats so kind of you..a very helpful "how to" ..will follow this and let you know how I get on with it (in 7 days or so when the new Macbook pro gets here) ..I will be VERY happy if I end up with a new MacBook Pro running Mojave but including all the stuff I need from my main Mac pro running Sierra ! ....
    thanks all again !

    Bill P
     

Share This Page

12 May 30, 2019