Is Mini DisplayPort same as firewire?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by evenkiehl, Jun 5, 2009.

  1. evenkiehl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #1
    Hi,
    sorry for what may seem a stupid question, but I have ordered the following computer to use with a Canon HV 30 camcorder, and I will upgrade to iLife09, to use iMovie.
    But I cannot find any firewire info. Am I OK with this???
    Thanks
    Stuart
    -------------------------------------

    The MacBook Pro includes a next generation Mini DisplayPort, which delivers a
    pure digital signal that can drive up to a 30-inch widescreen display.
    Apple MacBook Pro MB470LL/A 15.4-Inch Laptop (2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Processor, 2 GB DDR3 RAM, 250

    Apple MacBook Pro MB470LL/A 15.4-Inch Laptop (2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Processor, 2 GB DDR3 RAM, 250

    Details:
    Product Features and Technical Details
    Product Features

    * Redesigned MacBook with thin, strong aluminum unibody frame and 15-inch LED-backlit glass display
    * New glass trackpad with 40 percent more tracking area and supports more Multi-Touch gestures
    * 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo processor, 250 GB hard drive, 2 GB DDR3 RAM (4 GB max), DVD/CD SuperDrive
    * Dual NVIDIA graphics (integraed and discrete); Draft-N Wi-Fi; Bluetooth 2.1; Gigabit Ethernet; Mini DisplayPort video output
    * Preloaded with Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard operating system and iLife 08 suite of applications

    Processor, Memory, and Motherboard

    The MacBook Pro includes a next generation Mini DisplayPort, which delivers a pure digital signal that can drive up to a 30-inch widescreen display. The Mini DisplayPort is ultra-compact at just 10 percent the size of a full DVI connector, and is compatible with Apples 24-inch Cinema Display. Adapters are also available for using VGA, DVI/HDMI and Dual-Link DVI displays

    Hard Drive and Memory
    The 250 GB Serial-ATA (SATA) hard drive (5400 RPM) quickens the pace with a higher speed transfer of data--akin to FireWire and USB 2.0. The 2 GB of PC3-8500 DDR3 RAM (two SO-DIMMs of 1024 MB) has an industry-leading 1066 MHz speed, and the RAM capacity can be increased to 4 GB.
     
  2. John.B macrumors 601

    John.B

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    Holocene Epoch
    #2
    No. Mini-DisplayPort is like DVI-D or VGA, it's a video output. FireWire is a data interchange protocol that is more advanced than USB. Two totally different things.

    The MB470LL/A is the current 2.4 GHz MacBook Pro and it has both mini-DisplayPort as well as FireWire 800. And USB for that matter.

    So you're covered on all counts. That's a nice laptop, I'm envious. :) You'll eventually want to change out that 5400 rpm hard drive, but I'd wait until the prices drop on the 500GB 7200 rpm drives when they get more plentiful later this year.

    Edit: Search Apple.com for "MB470LL/A" and you'll see what you are getting. The tech specs are here or here.
     
  3. evenkiehl thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #3
    Thank you so much..

    ...for the information!
    Much appreciation:)
     
  4. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #4
    No need to do that for video editing... the media should always be on an external drive anyway. going to a 7200rpm internal on a laptop doesn't gain that much useful performance.
     
  5. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #5
    Why do you say this?
     
  6. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #6
    simply drive speed. never ever capture video to the internal drive of a laptop (or the OS drive of a desktop).

    video for editing should always be on a separate 3.5" disk away from your OS. that is one of the golden unwritten rules of video editing.
     
  7. eawmp1 macrumors 601

    eawmp1

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    FL
    #7
    I've got that camcorder and love it. Get a 9 PIN/ 4PIN BILINGUAL FireWire 800 - FireWire 400 Cable and you'll be golden!
     
  8. crewrules101 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    #8
    +2

    My best friend just graduated with a Masters degree in BECA. He taught me a few things, and like you said, it is the unwritten rule. It also helps speed up the processing of the video because it dosen't have to read the video files while switching back and forth to read the actual program and os.
     
  9. AVR2 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    #9
    It's certainly best practice, but if you're working with low-data-rate video like DV you can easily ignore it if necessary. I can capture and edit using my 2.16 MBP's internal HD (a 200Gb 4200rpm unit) without any problems at all.

    The only issue I've ever had is with trying to use an external 2.5" drive for both the media and as the scratch disk; any effects or other renders ended up corrupted. The solution was to set a different drive (be it the MBP internal one or another external) as the scratch.
     
  10. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #10
    that sounds more like an issue of using a 2.5" external for editing... I always have media and renders on the same drive.
     
  11. John.B macrumors 601

    John.B

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    Holocene Epoch
    #11
    Good point, but I was recommending the faster drive for Teh Snappies(TM) on the Mac itself.

    My blackbook was noticeably more responsive for certain tasks including booting and application loading the day I upgraded from the stock 5400 rpm drive to a 7200. As I said, "eventually" he'll want to upgrade. :cool:

    As far as the external vs internal debate goes, I've been told the internal SATA speeds should trump any benefits of a FW drive, but my experience with external FW drives and FW audio interfaces has been just the opposite. Definitely worthwhile IMO to go with an external FW drive for critical data streaming applications.
     
  12. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #12
    Golden unwritten rule. Got it. Thanks.

    So, you can still do it on the internal HD (laptop) or boot drive (desktop) if the need arises. However, it's not the optimum setup.
     
  13. evenkiehl thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #13
    Thanks again, one more ques....

    ....based on this link:
    should I get an external hard drive for editing?

    Deal is this-Canon HV 30 will be used in Central America for Youtube clips of a few min, probably every week or so, for information and marketing of organic speciality products from a farm being run by an American woman with a lot of blog followers.

    Will probably shoot in SD to start with, then come up to speed on camera, download, editing and posting to Youtube. I have supervised lots of editing sessions but never pushed the buttons, and I will be a one man band down there.

    So, seems like a good idea to have an external HD with me?
    Many thanks,
    Stuart
     
  14. John.B macrumors 601

    John.B

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    Holocene Epoch
    #14
    Not seeing the link, for whatever reason.

    But if I were you traveling in that situation, the first thing I'd have would be an external FW drive to periodically clone from the laptop's internal HD (I use SuperDuper, Carbon Copy Cloner is also highly regarded). That way if your MBP's hard drive gets flaky, you can boot from the cloned FW drive and continue working.

    The second thing I'd do is to make sure I had the video files stored on two separate hard drives until the file could be uploaded someplace reliable. One of those two hard drives could easily be the laptop's internal HD, space permitting.
     
  15. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #15
    if the world is about to end and you don't have an external HD, then go ahead and use the OS drive and hope it works alright.

    evenkiehl: get an external FW hard drive.
     
  16. evenkiehl thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #16
    Thanks everyone!

    for all the help!
    Best wishes and good health,
    Stuart:)
     
  17. Fast Shadow macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #17
    If the need arises but you're looking at slow load times, slow render times, and most importantly the likelihood of problems relating to dropped frames and audio stutters goes up.
     

Share This Page