Is my Airport Express dead?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by cleung, May 3, 2008.

  1. cleung macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #1
    My Airport Express stopped working after I did my software update for my Airport EXTREME the other day. It lost the connection to my Airport EXPRESS and so I did a hard reset and tried to redo the whole profile but after many, many hard resets, I still can't make it work. Airport Setup Assistant shows that the setup is complete and everything is fine. But if I select "Extend my wireless range", after the setup, my Airport Express won't even appear anywhere. If I select "Join my wireless network" then it will appear with a 169.xxx.xxx.xxx IP address under my Airport Utility. It will also show up on my iTunes but I can't open it using Airport Utility and iTunes spends a long time searching for it and then gives up. In all the above cases, the amber light remains flashing and the green light never comes on. What else can I do to fix this??
     
  2. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #2
    Make sure the extreme is set up to use 802.11a/b/g .
    Also be sure to select "allow this airport to be extended" on the extreme then start from scratch on the express.
     
  3. Bambeezer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #3
    No doubt that this thing can be a pain to configure when you can only do it wireless. I highly recommend using ethernet to configure. You can take out the wireless connectivity issues and see exactly what is happening.

    That's my 2 cents plus or minus a nickel.
     
  4. cleung thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4

    I just got it to work!! Extreme was set up to use 802.11b/g and it had "allow this airport to be extended" on but I actually turned it off and that's what made it work. Now my EXPRESS has a 10.x.x.x address like my EXTREME and it shows up on iTunes and it works. I have no idea why but at least it works now.
     
  5. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #5
    Thats great!!
    Now you have two networks though . I think
     

Share This Page