Is my Apple TV un patchable?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by milbournosphere, May 8, 2009.

  1. milbournosphere macrumors 6502a

    milbournosphere

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #1
    So, when I first got my Apple TV, I "patched" its 1.0 operating system so that I was able to ssh into it. I recently decided to jump over to the 2.1 OS, which, of course, erased the modifications. I was unhappy with the newer version of the OS, and decided to go back to 1.0/1.1. I found some images and restored them to the Apple TV hard drive. Now, my system is at 1.1, and it works just fine, but for the life of me, I cannot re-enable ssh. I have tried factory restores back to 1.0, upgrading back to 2.1 and using a patchstick, all to no avail. Has anyone here seen this problem before?
     
  2. tom1971 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #2
    What is the problem you have ? Is your usb stick recognized by the aTV?
     
  3. milbournosphere thread starter macrumors 6502a

    milbournosphere

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #3
    No, the stick is recognized, but after trying several different patchstick images on a couple different usb sticks, each one fails to install, complaining about a problem with the OSBoot partition. I am running out of ideas...do any of you have any?
     
  4. tom1971 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #4
    Hm, I guess it is kind of bricked. You will have to start over from scratch. Check google for instructions.
     
  5. milbournosphere thread starter macrumors 6502a

    milbournosphere

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #5
    Eh, too bad. I guess I should be happy, the aTV still functions as Apple intended it to...
     
  6. Chipskip macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    AZ
    #6
    I have never heard of this before. I am running aTv OS 2.3.1 and mine is hacked.

    I suggest you take this question over to http://xbmc.org/forum/ and ask some of the experts over there. They have helped me with some of the simplest of issue to some major reconfiguring.

    Good Luck!
     
  7. tom1971 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #7
    Scott Davilla will be able to help you there...
     
  8. milbournosphere thread starter macrumors 6502a

    milbournosphere

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #8
    Figured it out, but never posted. It ened up being a problem with the order of the partitions on the disk. OSBoot was not at the partition number that the stock configuration has it at, due to me upgrading the hard drive shortly after I bought it. As such, the fsck in the patch installation script was failing and the partition was not being mounted. I modified the script on the patch stick to reflect the change and all was well.

    It's a little late, but I thought I'd post my solution in case anyone else had the problem.
     

Share This Page