Is my Backup method okay?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by adamlbiscuit, Oct 20, 2008.

1. adamlbiscuit macrumors regular

Hi all, I just wanted to make sure my backup method is okay. Basically I don't really know how to do the big major backups like system etc. and I don't trust Time Machine after hearing pretty negative comments on it.

So Instead, I hooked up my MacBook to a new HD that I'd just bought, and I backed up my important stuff, Documents, Music, Pictures, Movies, Widgets, applications. Just simply dragged it to the external HD. I'm wondering if this is okay? Say for example I get a new MacBook and I send all this date over as it is will it be okay? What I'm concerned about most are the applications since I just simply dragged my whole applications folder to the External HD.

2. Diseal3 macrumors 65816

I'm not a mac expert as I have not been using the system very long, however to my knowledge Mac dosent Use any "Registry System" as the Windows System does. However, I think the only thing you will lose in case of an emergency with your applications would be the License Information for certain apps as not all save them in there folder, .kext files are saved in different parts of the system to save that information.

3. OllyW Moderator

OllyW

Staff Member

I would recommend using Carbon Copy Cloner or SuperDuper! to make an exact copy of your disk to an external drive.

4. adamlbiscuit thread starter macrumors regular

Thanks for the replies. As for the Licenses etc. I have jotted down all the codes I need so I can input them easily so it might not be that much of a problem. As for the exact copy of the disk, I'm seriously recommending doing this, but will it do anything to the date I already have stored on there?

5. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

sickmacdoc