Is my iPod Touch 2G or 3G?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by dolomite360, Apr 29, 2010.

  1. dolomite360 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    #1
    It is an 8GB, and its either 2G or 3G. (Definitely not 1G)

    The model number has "MC" in it? Does "MC" mean that it would be a 2G or a 3G? It's also running 3.1.3!
     
  2. quantum003 macrumors 6502a

    quantum003

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Location:
    Superposition
  3. flight macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    #3
    Apple is selling it as a "3rd-generation" model, but it did not get the hardware upgrades. Both the 2G and 3G 8GB are essentially the same.
     
  4. tadad1 macrumors 6502a

    tadad1

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #4
    If it is an 8GB MC model then it is technically the same as the 2G but with a different bootrom. The 32\64Gb models are the latest generation with increased RAM and more powerful CPU utilizing PowerVR SGX for better graphics processing.
     
  5. dom91932 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #5
    or if you bought it from apple you can tell by the year and month you bought it.
     
  6. DJHonda84 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #6
    You won't enjoy the full feature set of OS 4.

    I know this is not the answer to the question asked by threadstarter, but is the only reason I could think of as to why they'd care about iPod touch generation.
     
  7. Rizvi1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Location:
    Laurel, MD (Baltimore, MD / Washington, DC area)
    #7
    can you upgrade the hard drive in a second generation iPod Touch from 32gb to 64gb? I have a cracked screen and have been meaning to replace it. I would also like to replace the battery too since it seems to not be as good as it used to be. I don't feel like upgrading to the latest, greatest iPod Touch though - this one is working fine for my needs considering how often I use it.
     
  8. adamran macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #8
    Hell no!
     
  9. Rizvi1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Location:
    Laurel, MD (Baltimore, MD / Washington, DC area)
  10. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #10
    The iPod Touch does not have a hard drive; it uses solid state memory.
     

Share This Page