Is my Macbook 32bit or 64bit?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by desi22601, May 29, 2008.

  1. desi22601 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #1
    Im not sure.. its pretty new i got it after the Februrary Update of this year, its the 2.4 ghz intel core 2 duo version.. is it a 32 bit or 64?
     
  2. jrock2004 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    PA
    #2
    If it came with leopard preinstalled than yes
     
  3. desi22601 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #4
    yea it came with leopard preinstalled, so was that a yes to 32 or 64 bit?
     
  4. desi22601 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #5
    o ok thanks :D
     
  5. jrock2004 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    PA
  6. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #7
    Is it not as simple as

    Core duo = 32 bit
    all Core 2 duo = 64 bit ??
     
  7. adrix7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    #8
    hi, i bought mine in early 2007 i think.. its a macbook 2.2ghz leopard

    i tried to do a parallel desktop with linux ubuntu 8, it says i cant do it because it requires a kernel x86 - 64bit cpu and my macbook is i686...

    i tried open suse 10 it says it cant run coz my macbook is 32 bit..?

    please somebody explain to me whats all this..:(


    thanks:D
     
  8. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #9
    Because the virtual machine created by Parallels was 32-bit; has nothing to do with your computer's 32/64-ness.
     
  9. macmark117 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    #10
    64 bit

    hi i have a macbook 2.16 core 2 duo mid 2007. can anyone tell me if its 64 bit?
    thanks.:)
     
  10. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #11
    Is there any use booting up into 64 bit mode? It takes ages, but does it actually make it faster? Is there a way to tell if your in 64 bit more right now?

    Just booted up into 64 bit, I know how to tell if your in it. But if anything, it's slower?
     
  11. Zerozal macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    PA
    #12

    All Core 2 Duos are 64bit.
     
  12. modernmagic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    #13
    About This Mac -> More Info -> Software
    64-bit Kernel and Extensions: No
    64-bit Kernel and Extensions: Yes



     
  13. curtischip macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    #14
    I've got a Core 2 duo macbook and mine checks out as " 64-bit Kernel and Extensions: No".. So not all Core 2 Duo machines are at 64 bit apparently...
     
  14. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #15
    Indeed they are, they just don't boot the 64-bit kernel. There really isn't a whole lot of point to it, especially on a laptop. You still have a 64-bit processor
     
  15. Dat270 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #16
    As long as I have a Core 2 Duo, does it matter that i'm loaded in "64-bit Kernel and Extensions: No", if I want to run boot camp with windows 7, can I install 64 bit or do I need to run 32 bit? Or does it matter?
     
  16. boball macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    #17
    "How to tell if your Intel-based Mac has a 32-bit or 64-bit processor" -----> http://support.apple.com/kb/ht3696

    Apple confirms above - all Core 2 Duos are 64-bit processors.
     
  17. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #18
    I have a core 2 duo and system profiler says no on mine.
     
  18. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #19
    There are three things at work here:

    1. Is the processor 64-bit? AKA: Is the processor capable of running 64-bit code. If you have any Intel-based system *OTHER* than the very earliest 2006 systems with a "Core Duo" (or Core Solo, which was an option on the Mac Mini,) then the processor is 64-bit. *EVERY* "Core 2 Duo", *EVERY* Xeon, and *EVERY* "Core iSomething" is 64-bit.

    2. Is the Kernel 64-bit? This is significantly less important than you think. By default, only the Xserve would boot into the 64-bit kernel. Really, the only thing this affects is if the core of the OS can access more than 4 GB of memory for its own internal use. This has no bearing on applications running 64-bit code, or using more than 4 GB of RAM.

    3. Is the application 64-bit? This is what matters to most users. If #1 is "Yes", and the application is capable of 64-bit operation, then you're good. For the most part, the only gain you get by running in 64-bit mode is that individual applications can access more than 4 GB of RAM. Standard consumer applications have effectively no reason to do so, only higher-end applications often need the use of that much memory. (Right now, any way.) Also, because of the way 64-bit mode works on Intel (and AMD) processors, *ALL* operations see a very slight performance increase running in 64-bit mode vs. 32-bit mode - if the application is capable of 64-bit mode. In general, this performance boost is under 10%, though, so for most uses, it's barely noticeable.
     

Share This Page