Is my MBP 64 bit?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by brentg33, Jul 3, 2009.

  1. brentg33 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    #1
    Just curious, i have an older MBP w/ 2.16 core 2 duo processor. i was my understanding that all c2d mbp's were 64. just wanted to make sure

    thanks
     
  2. ceezy3000 macrumors 6502

    ceezy3000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Location:
    The Valley!!
    #2
    yes it is 64 bit. You pretty much answered your own question in your own post.
     
  3. brentg33 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    #3
    Just wanted to make sure because I had read different things on other sites
     
  4. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #4
    Maybe they were confusing the C2D with the original CD which is 32-bit.
     
  5. iAlexG macrumors 6502

    iAlexG

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, Missing Britain.
    #5
    I didn't think Leopard was 64-bit? can you explain please (i'm new:D)
     
  6. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #6
    There were some 2.16 ghz Core 1 Duo Macbook Pros, maybe that's why the OP was confused?

    If you have Firewire 800, you have a 64 bit machine, that's the quick way to tell on the 15" Macbook Pro.
     
  7. Sehnsucht macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #7
    Leopard is 32-bit with 64-bit memory extensions. Ordinarily 32-bit OS's like Windows XP (not including XP Pro of course) can only address ~3.5 GB of RAM. Leopard can recognize up to 32 GB (I think) hence that amount in the Mac Pro.

    A 32-bit OS can run on 64-bit processors, but not vice-versa.
     
  8. kryptonianjorel macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    #8
    False. 32 bit Windows can read up to 4 GB of RAM, but the way it handles the RAM is different, and thus not all of it can be accessed by applications under Windows. Windows XP Pro is not special. 64 bit OSes can address 16.8 Exabytes (EB). Since it took nearly 40 years to max out the available memory addresses in 32 bit OSes, i assume it'll take another 40 to do it again.
     
  9. airplaneman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    never heard of core 1 duo. are you talking about core solo?
     
  10. kryptonianjorel macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    #11
    I think he means the original Core architecture, as opposed to Core 2. There was a Core Duo line and a Core Solo line (which were Core Duos with a disabled core)
     
  11. spaceboots06 macrumors 6502a

    spaceboots06

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    The Rotten Apple
  12. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #13
    Yep. They just called them Core Duos, but it's an important enough distinction that I throw the 1 in.
     
  13. Sehnsucht macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #14
    I was under the impression that Windows XP Pro *is* the 64-bit version.

    And is "~3.5 GB" really that much different than "4 GB"? :rolleyes:

    I am aware of how Windows allocates memory to applications, I just wasn't sure exactly how much memory 64-bit OSes can address.
     
  14. getz76 macrumors 6502a

    getz76

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Hell, AL
    #15
  15. lazydesi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Gr8 Adelaide
    #16
    all the core 2 duo are 64bit machines

    all core duo are 32 bit machines
     
  16. Sehnsucht macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #17

Share This Page