is my MBP worthy enough for OSX Lion ?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by 10-Dee-Q, Oct 18, 2011.

  1. 10-Dee-Q macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Location:
    Bandung, West Java, Indonesia & Singapore
    #1
    hi i own MacBook Pro 5,3
    2.66 Core 2 Duo Peryn
    8GB Ram
    750GB 7200 rpm HDD


    now running snow leopard 10.6.8

    i just bought Lion on my iMac
    but before i install it , i've burn a copy of OSX lion on a DVD.

    is my machine worthy enough to run LION without any hiccups ?

    if it is , then how to clean install ?
    i've backup all my data on an externall HD
    and i want to install a clean install Lion to avoid any problem in the long run.

    can someone tell me how to do it ?

    and is there any download link to download the 10.7.2 update ?

    thank you very much.
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Your MBP will run it just fine. In order to clean install, you must boot from the DVD and erase the HD with Disk Utility.
     
  3. 10-Dee-Q thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Location:
    Bandung, West Java, Indonesia & Singapore
    #3
    hi thx for the reply
    when you mean boot from DVD
    thats my original gray DVD or the Lion DVD ?
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    If you want to install Lion, then use the Lion DVD.
     
  5. Shadow%20Mac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Lion DVD. Once you install Lion, go to Software Update, and 10.7.2 will be available from software update

    Here's the link to the combo update

    http://support.apple.com/kb/DL1459
     
  6. 10-Dee-Q thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Location:
    Bandung, West Java, Indonesia & Singapore
    #6
    cause i heard thta i need to have 10.6.8 before i can install Lion ?
     
  7. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #7
    What's a combo update?
     
  8. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #8
    Nope. If you have Lion in DVD, then you don't need any OS. That is kind of the idea of a clean install.

    It has the contents of all previous updates. E.g. You can use combo update to update from 10.7.0 to 10.7.2. Otherwise you will need to update to 10.7.1 first.
     
  9. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #9
    oh good to know so if you make a install dvd for 10.7.2 but by the time you need to use it its at say 10.7.6 you would use the combo updates to get up to date faster than just the normal check for updates way?

    ----------

    that would be if you wanted to download lion from the app store, which is the way apple says to do

    you can make your own Lion install dvd using the installer file you would download the first time you purchase lion, this way is not publisized by apple but you can find tutorials on how to make this dvd


    now once you have a "retail" dvd of lion you can install it direct on a blank hard drive without needing 10.6.8 and the app store
     
  10. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #10
    Software Update uses combo updates automatically.
     
  11. 10-Dee-Q thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Location:
    Bandung, West Java, Indonesia & Singapore
    #11
    okay ths for the help mates , u guys are great :p
     
  12. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #12


    just when i thought i was understanding i am back to being confused

    so if your install dvd is a version that since been updated more than once, is it recomended your use combo update or just the normal way of clicking the apple and check for updates? or are you saying they both do the same thing
     
  13. Amerabian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    #13
    Your MBP will thank you for turning it into a Lion ;)
     
  14. Nameci macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #14
    @iisforiphone,

    Just click software update on the apple menu and everything is covered. How long have you been on a mac?
     
  15. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #15
    1 month
     
  16. Nameci macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
  17. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #17
    Not what?
     
  18. Titanium81 macrumors 6502a

    Titanium81

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    #18
    Are you serious!?!? 8GB Ram?

    Your system should run circles around Lion!
     
  19. ichi41 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    #19
    install via usb2,0

    hi guys
    i have a strange situation that you can see the full story on " Insert new HDD and then.... " thread on macbookpro item on http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread
    so;
    i think that because of a bad surface on gery dvd, i can't install or restore (MYBE AS I THINK)
    So somebody knows how can i be able to install snowleopard 10.6 via USB 2,0?
    i can recall these days on new loptops apple uses USB 2.0 flashes insteade of grey Dvds to boot the devices in snowleopard. So only would i need a bootable usb2,0 flash storge and a image of my own grey dvd?
     
  20. oxfordguy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    #20
    Quite! Lion worked fine on my early-2008 Intel Core 2 Duo MBP and that only had 4Gb RAM!
     

Share This Page