Is my new rMBP actually new?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Rolanddes, Dec 13, 2014.

  1. Rolanddes macrumors member

    Rolanddes

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    #1
    A few days ago I bought a new rMBP from Apple. But I just realized that there a lot of wifi passwords stored on it already. (screenshot attached)

    What does that mean? Is it refurbished?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #2
    If you've synced it with your Apple ID (which in turn is connected to your iOS device), network passwords will be synced over to your Mac, via Keychain Access in iCloud.
     
  3. jenre macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    #3
    Don't want to derail this thread but on a related subject is there a way of deleting remembered wi-fi networks?
     
  4. cambookpro macrumors 603

    cambookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    Click on them (shown in System Preferences pane above) and press the minus button.
     
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    As yjchua95 mentioned, if you already set up and synced using your iCloud id, a lot of settings will be pre-configured for you.

    Was the MBP shrink wrapped and was the box sealed? Did you buy it directly from apple or from another store?

    Apple won't do this, but I can't comment on other retailers.
     
  6. crawler1975 macrumors regular

    crawler1975

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    #6
    yjchua95 is right. When I got mine, I was surprised to see that there were already wifi networks listed - but then looking closely, I realized these were all the networks that I had used and icloud synced it. So nothing to worry about.
     
  7. RKO macrumors 6502

    RKO

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #7
    What is your battery cycle count?

    about this mac>system report>hardware>power
     
  8. Rolanddes thread starter macrumors member

    Rolanddes

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    #8
    That's what I did. I guess those are my previously logged in wifi networks. Thanks.

    ----------

    Yes it was all neatly sealed and wrapped. I guess it is because of iCloud.

    ----------

    Thanks. They should put a warning in wifi settings so that people will not freak out :)

    ----------

    Cycle count is 3 right now. But right now is the first time I am charging it. Is this normal? Should not it be 1 or at most 2?
     
  9. RKO, Dec 13, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2014

    RKO macrumors 6502

    RKO

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #9
    A cycle count 3 or 4 is usual not unusual for a new battery in MacBooks. I believe you are all good to go. :)
     
  10. Rolanddes thread starter macrumors member

    Rolanddes

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    #10
    Great. Thanks :)
     
  11. Archer1440 macrumors 6502

    Archer1440

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Location:
    USA
    #11
    I have opened four new Macbooks (2 airs and 2 pros) in the past 8 months and none had more than one cycle count. I wouldn't say 3 or 4 is a big deal but I wouldn't call it "usual" either.
     
  12. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #12
    On the flip side - you'll find that if you reset the network settings on iOS (which appears to be standard troubleshooting when you call Apple) it wipes out all the stored networks on any iCloud connected device. :mad:
     
  13. interstella macrumors regular

    interstella

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Location:
    Suffolk, England
    #13
    Do you have any other Apple devices? My Macbook is showing networks that I've connected to while out and about with only my iPhone with me.
     
  14. RKO macrumors 6502

    RKO

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #14
  15. Rolanddes thread starter macrumors member

    Rolanddes

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    #15
    That's what I though at first, I'll check the threads man, thanks again.

    ----------

    Yeap I do, that's because of that.

    ----------

    I guess so. But it may be random quality checking as suggested by RKO.
     
  16. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #16
    I guess the bottom line is enjoy your new computer and everything appears to be in order. Don't sweat the small stuff :D
     
  17. Zeov macrumors 6502a

    Zeov

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Odense
    #17
    wouldn't exactly call 2 generations old hardware for new.
     
  18. cjmillsnun macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #18
    2 generations old?

    Haswell is the current generation.
     
  19. blooperz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    #19
    It's pretty common. I went through 3 late 2013 15 inchers and none of them had less than 3 cycle counts. I'm guessing its just part of the pre calibration apple does on its machines, now that you don't need to calibrate the battery yourself.
     
  20. RKO macrumors 6502

    RKO

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #20
    I received my new rMBP yesterday. I checked the battery cycles and yes I can confirm, 3 cycles straight out of the box. :)
     

Share This Page