Is my RAM setup bad?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by AlphaDogg, Jun 28, 2012.

  1. AlphaDogg macrumors 68040

    AlphaDogg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #1
    So my MBP was in the shop for an ODD replacement under AppleCare. So I took out my (upgraded) HDD and 8GB RAM (though it was 1067mhz, not 1333 because it came from my MBP that Apple replaced) and put the stock back in. I put the RAM in my mom's unibody poly MacBook so I could share it with her for the time being without having to put up with it's 2gb RAM slowness. She thought it was amazing and super fast, so she wanted to keep the ram for herself. So I thought "if she wants it, maybe she'll let me upgrade mine!" She did not let me upgrade mine. Instead, she let me get one 8GB 1333mhz stick so I could upgrade to 16GB in the future.

    tl;dr: Is it okay to run just one stick of RAM?
     
  2. dlimes13 macrumors 6502a

    dlimes13

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Location:
    Perrysburg, OH
    #2
    Should be fine.
     
  3. dougaha18 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Location:
    Chicago
    #3
    Of course RAM always performs better in pairs, but you'll be okay with just one.
     
  4. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #4
    What do you mean by 'mother does not let me upgrade'? Do I underseant it correctly, she basically muged your RAM off you? Some tought mother you have there ^^
     
  5. AlphaDogg thread starter macrumors 68040

    AlphaDogg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #5
    No. She replaced my 8GB (that she took) with an 8GB stick so I could upgrade in the future (my decision).
     

Share This Page