Is my SSD recognised as an SSD in Bootcamp?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Killerbob, Mar 20, 2013.

  1. Killerbob macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #1
    I recently cloned my Bootcamp from a HDD to an SSD, and it is working just fine. I switch into Windows 7 and it works wonderfully. However, I was checking the Windows Experience Index, and for the Primary Hard Disk it states 5,9 - which is the lowest of the subscores.

    I then checked if TRIM is enabled, and it is, but surely the C300 will score a more respectable score?

    Is there a way to verify that Windows is indeed seeing the C300 as an SSD in Bootcamp?
     
  2. MatthewAMEL macrumors 6502

    MatthewAMEL

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #2
    Did you re-run the Windows Experience Index test?
     
  3. Killerbob thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #3
    I did, and it is still 5,9. I wonder if it is a driver issue. Can you update the bootcamp drivers that Apple provides? I just created a USB stick using the latest version for Mac Pro 2008s, and there is an EXE file, but will that possibly ruin anything?
     
  4. MatthewAMEL macrumors 6502

    MatthewAMEL

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #4
    I wouldn't worry too much about the Index number.

    Have you tried benchmarking the drive?

    http://www.hdtune.com/
     
  5. thehimay macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, ON, CA
    #5
    Have you patched the system to run the SATA controller in AHCI mode instead of legacy IDE? HDD performance (even on Velociraptors where I wouldn't expect it to be as obvious) has been lackluster for me in BootCamp while running in IDE mode for my 3,1 without patching the bootloader to support AHCI.
     
  6. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    I would avoid "cloning" an HDD to an SSD due to the fact that often the sectors don't line up and therefore you may suffer performance issues. Anyways I think there is software that is available that lets your set the alignment after the fact.

    That said, I would check that TRIM is enabled, turn off defragmentation, Superfetch, etc. It should have no issue detecting that your new drive is an SSD. Perhaps try that patch; I don't need it on my Mac.
     
  7. Killerbob thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #7
    I followed the suggestions and got Windows updated to ACHI. It was fairly easy using the method from InSanelyMac. Now there is no doubt, my SSD is acting like an SSD, the WEI for storage is 7,6 and I checked using As SSD.

    I couldn't update the AHCI driver and Windows is using the standard old ones. Which Intel driver should I use in Bootcamp?
     

Share This Page