Is my Thunderbolt port dead ? (First time using it - need help)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hamiltonDSi, Mar 22, 2016.

  1. hamiltonDSi, Mar 22, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2016

    hamiltonDSi macrumors 65816

    hamiltonDSi

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Location:
    Romania
    #1
    I purchased some TB adapters for my 15" CTO Late 2013" Retina (i7 / 16GB / 1TB Flash / dGPU) and I have some problems with a port.

    1. Original Apple Thunderbolt to Ethernet adapter
    2. 3rd party generic (from Amazon) Thunderbolt to HDMI adapter.

    As you may know, the Retina's have two Thunderbolt 2 ports and I think one of them is dead.
    If I plug in the adapters in the first port (the one near the Magsafe) everything works great. Signal goes to the TV or the internet connections works. Now, if I plug in the adapters in the second port (the one near the USB port) nothing happens, sort of.

    a) My Mac does not detect the Ethernet Cable no matter what.
    Tried restarting, updated this morning to 10.11.4 (had the problem yesterday on 10.11.3).

    b) My Mac does detect my office TV (this is why I bought the cable - office presentations & meetings) but there is no signal to the TV.
    I can change the Resolution, refresh rate and even select the TV's speakers to play music but no signal gets to the TV. (check the screenshots - OS X detects it but the TV displays "no signal")

    Again, the first port works great. Only the second one is messed up.

    So what to do ? Did u guys had this problem ?
    This is a 2 year old machine so no warranty :)
    Thanks !
    --- Post Merged, Mar 22, 2016 ---
    Update :

    1. Under System Report both Thunderbolt port are shown and I guess this is a good thing.
    2. Pressed ALT (Option) in Display Pref to show the hidden button "Detect Displays" ; clicked it, still broken.
    3. Reseted NVRAM (PRAM) and SMC, still broken.
    4. Changed the HDMI Cable and the input, still broken.
    5. Tried connecting it via HMDI, works great just like the first port.

    I cant figure out what the hell is going on with the second port.
    Please help me.
    If I take it to Apple they will just quote me an insane price (because this is the high end MBP, top of the line) for a logic board replacement.

    Because the computer sees the port and the Mac sees the TV with the second port I don't think a logic board replacement is needed.
    --- Post Merged, Mar 22, 2016 ---
    Update 2 :

    Apple Hardware test says everything is OK.
    This made my day just a tiny bit better. Srsly thinking now it's some weird software glitch.
    I've read this past hour like crazy and A LOT of people said that Yosemite killed their port.
    Now this Mac came with Mavericks, I upgraded to Yosemite and now El Cap ; like I said in the title this is the first time I'm using them so I really don't know if they worked in Mavericks.
    The people affected said they solved the problem by downgrading to Mavericks and then upgrade back.
    I really don't have time for this.. and I'm not 100% sure the port worked fine in the older versions of OSX. Like I said, firs time using it on El Cap.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. hamiltonDSi, Mar 22, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2016

    hamiltonDSi thread starter macrumors 65816

    hamiltonDSi

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Location:
    Romania
    #2
    I think I found the problem.
    Look at this picture I took right now - is it just me or is that little thing there bent or smth ?

    EDIT : Now that I know some keywords more detailed than "thunderbolt not working", I google'd my problem and found only one dude with this issue (he posted on multiple forums)
    This dude has the same issue as me (dislocated metal plate).
    He fixed it and got it working. Check out his post and look at his pics :
    http://apple.stackexchange.com/questions/158137/dislocated-metal-plate-in-thunderbolt-port
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #3
    You have the computer in front of you have done all the research found the issue etc are you asking something???
     
  4. hamiltonDSi thread starter macrumors 65816

    hamiltonDSi

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Location:
    Romania
    #4
    I did not find the issue instantly dude. I updated my post like 4 times. When I first posted I knew nothing.
    I updated the post to help others if they have the same issue
    .And yes, I'm asking HOW TO repair that metal plate without taking the logic board off ; with a toothpick or smth.
    Can you HELP ME OR NOT ? :)
     
  5. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #5
    OP:

    The second TB port definitely has something bent at the top, as per your pic.

    As I see it, you have two choices:
    1. Take it to an Apple-authorized service center for repair, where the tech will probably just take a small flat-blade screwdriver and bend it back up, or...
    2. Do that yourself. Just be gentle about it.

    Let us know how it goes...
     
  6. Falcon9 macrumors member

    Falcon9

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Location:
    Eastern Canada
    #6
    Any idea how it got bent? Would it be a manufacturing defect, or can it happen but inserting the cable incorrectly/at an angle?
     
  7. hamiltonDSi thread starter macrumors 65816

    hamiltonDSi

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Location:
    Romania
    #7

    Yesterday was the first time I plugged in a thunderbolt cable on this computer, and trust me, i plugged it in correctly. I did not work on the first try and I knew something was up.
    I don't have kids or roommates to mess with my laptop and at the office everyone has it's own desk and we don't share computers. I am the only person who uses this computer.
    I'm 99.9% sure this is a manufacturing defect.
    --- Post Merged, Mar 22, 2016 ---
    Is it safe to use a metal screwdriver in a port ? Ofc the computer will be shut down.
     
  8. hamiltonDSi thread starter macrumors 65816

    hamiltonDSi

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Location:
    Romania
    #8
    Wanted to let you guys know that I ripped out that metal plate last week.
    The port works fine now :)
     

Share This Page