Is now a bad time to buy a first laptop?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by DVvM, Apr 23, 2007.

1. DVvM macrumors newbie

I'm a graduate student, and I recently determined that my life would be markedly easier if I owned a laptop, something I have never done before. I've been an Apple computer user for as long as I've been a computer user, so I shopped the Apple store and figured that probably the mid range MacBook was right up my alley. Deciding to do some research, I stumbled upon the buyer's guide here and it recommended only buying a MacBook or a MacBook Pro, which recommends that one should only buy one of these laptops if they need one. However, I've never owned a laptop period so it's hard for me to really gauge how much I need one.

I hear rumors that both lines are overdue for an update, and that Intel has some sexy new chip technology coming down the pipe, which would seem to point to "waiting" as a reasonable response to the technology. However, I freely admit to not being one of the most computer savvy folks to ever walk the earth, so I admit that I don't really understand the improvements that Santa Rosa et. al. would offer me over what I can currently get. On the other hand, like any consumer I'm always looking to get more bang for my buck if I can.

So in the interest of specifics:
    1) How likely do you think that both MacBook lines will be updated soon? How soon? I know that WWDC is coming up soon, so that would be a reasonable time to update something at least. However, to my knowledge WWDC is usually when Apple rolls out high end products and I'm probably looking to buy on the low end (for an Apple.)
    2) How noticeable an improvement will the new MacBooks be over the current line (most probably)? Is this something I'm liable to notice if I'm a novice laptop owner and I don't really call upon the computer to do much heavier lifting than routine Mathematica calculations, for example?