Is Now the Time To Buy

Discussion in 'iMac' started by milesc3, Jan 11, 2014.

1. milesc3 macrumors newbie

Hello All, I'm new to this forum and to the current generation of MACs (I had one of the first MACs years ago). I am a computer professional who was forced to use Windows by my employer. Recently some of the requirements by my employer have been relaxed and I have gotten the urge to own another MAC. I have used this and other MAC related forums to do research for the past couple of months and was just about ready to pull the trigger until I started reading about the problems with the yellow screen and other quality related problems.

I realize that the vast majority of people come to forums to either help, solve a problem, or complain. I'm wondering just how serious these problems really are and should I postpone pulling the trigger on a fully loaded IMAC until some resolution has been reached?

2. robgendreau macrumors 68030

Screen issues with iMacs go back further than just the most recent iMacs. You would have to wait out the current generation, or at least keep searching forums to see if any recent problems had cropped up. But I doubt Apple is making any changes in sourcing the screens.

If that's too much of a risk, considering you can always return it, I'd say fergeddaboutit and get something that has an external display that's less of a problem to replace.

3. Bear macrumors G3

Buy it, if you don't like the screen return it. There's a chance of a bad screen (or some other part) no matter how good quality control is.

4. fastlanephil macrumors 6502a

fastlanephil

If you purchase it directly from Apple you have a few days to ask for a refund or exchange with no strings attached.

I had a screen issue with my iMac G5 years ago and got the run around from AppleCare so I took it to a certified Apple Tech who checked it out, spotted the issue, called Apple and the screen was replaced on Apple's dime in a few days.

5. DerekS macrumors 6502