Is Octave available for OS X?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by stchman, Sep 6, 2012.

  1. stchman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #1
    I like using Octave (freeware version of Matlab), and it appears there is no OS X version of Octave.

    Does anyone know of any Matlab clones for OS X?

    Thanks.
     
  2. talmy macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #2
    It looks like it can be compiled from source, but if you don't want to do this you can always run a Linux distribution in a virtual machine (such as VirtualBox) and it would be free. That's what I'd do.
     
  3. ScoobyMcDoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #3
    It's available via macports, and possibly fink. I loaded it via macports and it works great.
     
  4. r0k macrumors 68040

    r0k

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Detroit
    #4
    I've had good results running Octave under Crossover.
     
  5. stchman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #5
    So to install Octave via MacPorts do you:

    1. Install the MacPorts package using the .pkg installer.

    2. Install Octave using the following line:

    Code:
    sudo port install octave-devel
    It looks like the package octave-devel is Octave 3.6.2.
     
  6. ScoobyMcDoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #6
    If you haven't already done the base install for macports, just follow the directions found on macports.org. Once all the base stuff is installed, then use the command "sudo port install octave". I did not install the octave-devel package, just octave. It does appear that the current revision in macports is 3.6.2 as you said.
     
  7. stchman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #7
    I installed Macports on my ML MBA, and unfortunately Macports has problems with ML.

    I installed Virtualbox on my MBA and installed Ubuntu 12.04. I then installed the Octave 3.6 repo. I am now able to use Octave.
     
  8. ScoobyMcDoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #8
    Thanks for following up and letting me know about that. I checked on the macports web site and they didn't mention anything about problems with ML. I'm still on Lion and will wait to upgrade to ML until I know macports will work.
     

Share This Page