Is OSX Yosemite on my 2013 mac compatible with the university"lockdown browser"?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by domo-origoto, Jul 27, 2014.

  1. domo-origoto macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    #1
    i REALLY want to try it buti have test and quiz's using lock down browser...


    is PARALLELS work on it?
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    You ask a question regarding your lockdown browser that none of us can really answer with any sort of certainty.

    If you have tests coming up, I'd say its a really bad idea to load a beta OS onto your computer.
     
  3. 556fmjoe macrumors 65816

    556fmjoe

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    #3
    I'm guessing you mean the Respondus Lockdown Browser?

    If so, it's listed as compatible 10.5 or later, but I guarantee you that statement is not intended to apply to betas, and definitely not one as new as Yosemite. I would be willing to bet they have never even tested it on Yosemite.

    If you want to try it and risk not being able to take a test and hurting your grade, it's your choice. I would never recommend it though.
     
  4. Silverguy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    #4
    If you make a Time Machine backup before you install Yosemite, it is really easy to roll back the installation. Make the Time Machine backup and then load up Yosemite. Note the time of the time machine backup. Then, if the browser does not work, simply press and hold Command+R when you start the computer to enter recovery mode, and tell it to restore from the time machine backup you made earlier. Whala, everything will be back to normal after that.

    I'm still not sure it's wise to load beta software on a mission critical computer, but only you know what your schedule is like, and what risks you can afford to take.
     
  5. domo-origoto thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    #5
    yyeah i know its my mian machine, but its my ONLY machine so im tempted to see the new look and stuff
     
  6. simon48 macrumors 65816

    simon48

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #6
    External drive or a new partition would be the safe way. Then you can test what you need before making it your only OS.
     
  7. domo-origoto thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    #7
    have you tried it on yosemite? lol
     
  8. 556fmjoe macrumors 65816

    556fmjoe

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    #8
    No, I have not. If you have another computer avilable to take the test on if it fails, there's no harm in trying it.
     

Share This Page