Is Password Protect Possible For A Folder?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Negotiator74, Jul 27, 2010.

  1. Negotiator74 macrumors newbie

    Negotiator74

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #1
    Hello,

    I have a folder that I would like to password protect. Is this possible with Snow Leopard? If not, is there a third party app that would do this??

    Thanks in advance!!
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
  3. Caleb531 macrumors 6502

    Caleb531

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    #3
    You can create an encrypted (password-protected) disk image and copy your files to there.

    To do that:

    1. Open Disk Utility, and click the New Image button in the toolbar.
    2. A dialog will appear where you can choose a name, size, and encryption setting for your disk image.
    3. After clicking Create and choosing a password, the image will automatically mount, and you can copy whatever files/folders you want.
    Keep in mind you can only copy files/folders to the disk image. You should delete the originals to keep them safe (now that they're in the disk image). This is really the only way of password-protecting a folder (there might be an app available but none that I know of).

    More information in this thread.
     
  4. Negotiator74 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Negotiator74

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #4
    Thanks for the advice here... I did find the third party app Espionage and I'm going to give that a try. It just password protects and doesn't encrypt which is exactly what I wanted.
     
  5. ttopp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    #5
    is there no something under "get info" where you can set the requirement for a pasword to open? im no at my mac will look when i get hame..
     
  6. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #6
    nope.
     
  7. ttopp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    #7
    nope its gone now i could be thinking way back to os 9 lol
     

Share This Page