Is "Raise to Wake" 6S Exclusive?

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by glendroid, Jun 13, 2016.

  1. glendroid macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    #1
    I have beta 1 on my iPhone 6 currently and can't get raise to wake to work. Combed through the settings and found nothing..

    Could this feature be iPhone 6s only?
     
  2. Polaroid macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
  3. Raz0rEdge macrumors newbie

    Raz0rEdge

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    MA
    #3
    It's been Apple's tactic to make a handful of features exclusive to the latest version of their devices to entice users to upgrade. Most of the time, the reasons are more marketing related than hardware limitations of the older devices..

    So, I wouldn't be surprised at all if this feature is limited to the 6S and onward..
     
  4. Black Magic macrumors 68000

    Black Magic

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    #4
    Not sure why that feature is even a big deal. If TouchID is truly an issue, just hit the power button to wake the screen.
     
  5. Aditya_S macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #5
    I think it could have easily been implemented on the 6, but since only 6s users had the Touch ID being too fast problem, they made it only for the 6s to entice people to upgrade.
     
  6. glendroid thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    #6
    Anyone with feedback with an iPhone 6?
    --- Post Merged, Jun 13, 2016 ---
    The option of just lifting my phone to view the screen is very attractive to me. I loved it on the Nexus 6p when I tried it out.
     
  7. Tubamajuba macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    #7
    Oh, really? When has Apple done this, aside from technical limitations?
     
  8. perfect_, Jun 13, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2016

    perfect_ macrumors member

    perfect_

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    #8
    This feature should must be use Gyro, Accelerometer and Barometer.

    And here is the compatible list.
    iPhone 6S - 3-Axis gyro, Accelerometer, Barometer --PASSED
    iPhone 6S Plus - 3-Axis gyro, Accelerometer, Barometer --PASSED
    iPhone 6 - 3-Axis gyro, Accelerometer, Barometer --PASSED
    iPhone 6 Plus - 3-Axis gyro, Accelerometer, Barometer --PASSED
    iPhone SE - 3-Axis gyro, Accelerometer --FAILED
    iPhone 5S - 3-Axis gyro, Accelerometer --FAILED
    iPhone 5 - 3-Axis gyro, Accelerometer --FAILED

    Apple should must be add this iPhone 6 or later. There is a hardware inside for it. And it helps to Apple reduce Sleep/Wake button and Home button/Touch-id service costs.

    Edit:
    I watched this video.


    0:47 - 0:52

    Looks like there is no need barometer for it. And all m7 and m8 models can handle this feature. So its a developer beta1. Must be added in later beta's. I think Apple working on it background for getting all models. Maybe Apple added this feature 6S only for demo. Its a simple and great software innovation. And ofcourse its a Win-Win. Apple wins: Reduce button service costs. Users wins: Easier life. Better than double touch home button to wake. :)
     
  9. v0lume4 macrumors 65816

    v0lume4

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    #9
    Siri, for one. I can't use it on my iPad 2, yet iPad mini (first generation) owners can use Siri. My iPad has the same SoC as the first generation iPad mini.
     
  10. Paddle1 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    #10
    Well on stage they stated the feature was added to help stop unintended fast Touch ID 2.0 unlocks, only the 6s and 6s Plus would fit that criteria.
     
  11. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #11
    Is everything else related the same as well? Like microphones, noise cancellation abilities, etc.?
     
  12. Tubamajuba macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    #12
    But does your iPad 2 have the same DSP capabilities as the iPad mini?
     
  13. perfect_ macrumors member

    perfect_

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    #13
    From Apple
    In iOS 10, accessing the information you need is easier and quicker than ever. Raise to Wake automatically wakes the screen as you raise your iPhone, making it easier to view all your notifications at a glance, right from the Lock screen.

    http://www.apple.com/newsroom/2016/06/apple-previews-ios-10-biggest-ios-release-ever.html
     
  14. v0lume4 macrumors 65816

    v0lume4

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    #14
    I honestly don't know. However, I don't doubt that Apple locks out certain software features that could be on older devices. I don't fault them for it.
     
  15. EldonChew macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Location:
    Singapore
    #15
    It needs the gyroscope/accelerometer to be always on(when the phone is on sleep) and only the 6s/SE has the M9 embedded...
     
  16. chrf097 macrumors 68040

    chrf097

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    #16
  17. perfect_ macrumors member

    perfect_

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    #17
    Did you know? iPhone 5S/6/6Plus has a always on(when the phone is on sleep) embedded motion processor (m7 and m8) ? It can track ur steps, distance and floors(m8) even when the phone is on sleep.

    M9 chip has a only difference and its always on microphone. In this feature we dont need microphone.
     
  18. Paddle1 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    #18
    Yep, like said on stage, part of the reason that it's "easier to view your notifications" on the lock screen with Raise to Wake is because it's harder to accidentally unlock. They're not going to put that on the website.

    If it requires the M9 always-on processor, does the SE have this feature?
     
  19. Crystal Shadow macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    #19
    The feature is mostly relevant to the 6s because TouchID 2 is so fast. I couldnt look at the lock screen unless I intentionally press home with the wrong finger, or hit the side button (Which is inconvenient). That said, it would make sense to make it an option for the 6
     
  20. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #20
    Apparently it's there for SE as well though.
     
  21. perfect_ macrumors member

    perfect_

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    #21
    It works on iPhone SE aswell.

    iPhone SE TouchID is the same as in 5s, slower than iPhone 6s fingerprint sensor.

    If people doing accidentally unlock 6S. So what is that. Iphone SE has a slow fingerprint sensor. Your argument is dead.

    If it needs hardware; 5S/6/6Plus has.
    If it wants always on motion chip; 5S/6/6Plus has.

    What we dont have? Maybe just resistance.
     
  22. ashindnile macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    #22
    The only differences between iPad 2 rev. 2 and iPad mini 1 (if I remember correctly) are LTE support, and a better front camera.
     
  23. bbfc macrumors 68030

    bbfc

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, England.
    #23
    I thought the iPhone SE had Touch ID 2?
     
  24. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #24
    It does not.
     
  25. iOSUser7 macrumors 6502a

    iOSUser7

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    #25
    Nah it doesn't, Apple had to make compromises in order to retain the 400$ price tag.
     

Share This Page