Is RAM the same as new 27" iMac's?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by rick.m650, Sep 9, 2013.

  1. rick.m650 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #1
    Aren't the RAM sticks interchangeable between a 15" 2.6 GHz i7 cMBP and a 27" 3.2 GHz i5 iMac? Both purchased in 2013 and use the same(?) DDR3 PC3-12800 1600MHz 204 pin sticks, right? Am I asking for trouble swapping a matched-pair of RAM from 1 machine to the other? Thanks.
     
  2. Spink10 macrumors 601

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #2
    The cMBP doesnt use 1600 - but 1333 (stock from Apple)
     
  3. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #3
    I'm not sure they are...Your best bet is to go to Crucial's site and run the little app there. It will tell you exactly which modules fit, how much RAM you can fit, and at what speed it runs:

    http://www.crucial.com
     
  4. raptor402 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    #4
    They both run Ivy Bridge and support 1600MHz DIMMs, but as Spink10 said, the stock RAM might be a lower clock. Your best bet would be to check in system information.

    Nevertheless, should you decide to switch, the RAM will work perfectly, even if it is of a lower (or higher, for that matter) clock speed.

    Regards
    Raptor
     
  5. Yahooligan macrumors 6502a

    Yahooligan

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #5
    You would be mistaken, I'm staring at the original memory that came in my mid-2012 cMBP and is, indeed, PC3-12800 (1600Mhz), not 1333.

    Also, http://store.apple.com/us/memoryfamily/ME_MBP - All 1600.
     
  6. Spink10 macrumors 601

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #6
    You are correct - I have owned too many 2011 MBP's and got stuck thinking that 1600 was added in 2013.
     

Share This Page