Is Remote Desktop for Mac free?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by I Need a Drink, Feb 6, 2015.

1. I Need a Drink macrumors member

Let me preface by saying I'm new to Mac. I noticed that when I updated to 10.10.2 and again today on it's own, the app store had me update the Remote Desktop Client. When I go to my Applications folder I can't find this app and when I search it shows up on the App Store for $80.00. Why am I being asked to update an app that I presumably don't even have? Am I missing something?

2. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

The client portion comes with OSX, the actual application that does the remote control is not.

If you want remote control apps, then look at TeamViewer, its free and platform independent, i.e, it runs on windows, OSX etc.

3. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

Anonymous Freak

There are three parts to "Apple Remote Desktop"

1. The 'server' side - this is what each machine runs that allows OTHER machines to reach in and control it. This is built in to OS X. This is in System Preferences, under Sharing. You can have it share with the stock Apple Remote Desktop protocol, or with the open VNC protocol (which requires an extra step to enable because Apple doesn't support the secure version.)

2. The 'simple client' side - this is what you run on a remote machine to connect to machine #1 - OS X comes with it built-in, but it's hidden by default. It is an app called simply "Screen Sharing.app" in /System/Library/Core Services/Applications (in Yosemite - in earlier versions it's in just /System/Library/Core Services.) I make an alias to it in my main Applications folder. This client can connect to machines running either the Remote Desktop or VNC protocols. (In fact, from Safari, you can launch it directly by using a URL such as vnc://servername ) This is also the app that is launched if you use the network browser in the OS X Finder to see a system on the local network, and click "Share Screen" on it.