Is running Windows via Bootcamp just as fast as running Windows on a regular PC?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by TantalizedMind, Dec 1, 2007.

  1. TantalizedMind macrumors 6502a

    TantalizedMind

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    #1
    Just wondering. I have an Single 1.8Ghz G5. It seems slow.. but I don't use a computer for too many things. The internet doesn't load that great. I get a lot of waiting, and a lot of stuff doesn't load.

    I use my Mac for internet (which it seems hard for my Mac), music, photos, videos, and Unreal Tournament 2004. If buying a current model computer will at least load everything fine on the internet, then I'll definitely upgrade.

    I love Mac, but I really want Unreal Tournament III. Thus the need for Windows. But if Windows XP runs like "Virtual PC" used to work... uh.. no chance.

    Dunno what to do really. Love Mac, but LOVE Uneal Tournament.

    [1GB Ram, 160GB HDD, NVidia GeForce FX 5200]
     
  2. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    It does, and because you'll have less rubbish cluttering that HD side than on a regular PC, you'll find it blazes for the specs...
     
  3. GSMiller macrumors 68000

    GSMiller

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #3
    Windows runs insanely fast on my iMac, but that's because it's faster than all my old computers put together. But yea there's no "bloatware" like you get with a PC so that helps.
     
  4. webgoat macrumors 6502a

    webgoat

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #4
    running windows via boot camp utilizes all hardware under the hood... you are running windows natively
     
  5. milk242 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #5
    pretty sure bootcamp won't run on a G5 unless you plan to buy an intel mac
     
  6. fearxtragedy macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    #6
    in my experience,

    windows runs faster on the mac than on pcs. =]
     
  7. mcarnes macrumors 68000

    mcarnes

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    USA! USA!
    #7
    If that's the only game just wait until the mac release. Shouldn't be too long I think.
     
  8. TantalizedMind thread starter macrumors 6502a

    TantalizedMind

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    #8
    Yeah.. but I don't think I can put a NVidia GeForce 8800GT in my G5. And my G5 is a slow old dog. I need a new rig.
     
  9. IChing macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    #9
  10. metropolitim macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    #10
    Agreed on almost all counts.

    -You need an Intel Mac.

    -You'll be blown away by the performance. How's this: on my desktop computer, only 1 year old, I have XP running on a multiprocessor machine, with 4GB RAM and 7200 RPM drives.

    On my MacBook Pro, I have VISTA, only 2GB RAM, and only 5400 RPM drive...and I can't get over how much faster it is. I'm moving everything I can off my desktop because using Vista on a Mac is just so much more fun.

    --One point of friendly disagreement: it never pays to hold your breath waiting for Mac versions of games. :)
     
  11. Yvan256 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #11
    The only thing I can't understand is why would his internet access be slow on a G5... It was fine on my Mac mini G4.

    ISP and/or model problems perhaps?
     
  12. Cloudsurfer macrumors 65816

    Cloudsurfer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #12
    Bootcamp only works with Intel Macs. Windows only runs on x86 processors.
     

Share This Page