Is sharing a Mac screen over the internet possible with Sierra, or any MacOS?

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by PinkyMacGodess, Nov 12, 2016.

  1. PinkyMacGodess macrumors 601

    PinkyMacGodess

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest America.
    #1
    Windows has/had the ability to share a screen over the internet. You sent a file to the person you wanted to have connect, and they were able to. For the Mac, and MacOS, I haven't been able to find that ability. Is it possible under Sierra, or are there apps now that can do that?

    Thanks...

    (I'm getting very tired of driving three hours one way to provide tech support)
     
  2. PinkyMacGodess thread starter macrumors 601

    PinkyMacGodess

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest America.
    #3
    I would have to be able to login to their iCloud to access their computer, from what it sounds like. Um... That's not a good solution. TeamViewer is EXPENSIVE! $849.00 for a 'single user business license'? Wow... It's cheaper to drive up there, six freaking hours round trip. OUCH!

    There has to be other options...

    Does RealVNC allow me to access a computer on the backside of a router/DSL modem? I'd probably have to do some kind of pinhole, I'd assume.
     
  3. boast macrumors 65816

    boast

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, USA
    #4
    A vnc server is built in. You can enable it under the Sharing section of Settings. You will need to forward port 5900 to it.
     
  4. inarush macrumors member

    inarush

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Location:
    Ann Arbor MI
    #5
    Perhaps you might consider Apple Remote Desktop: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/apple-remote-desktop/id409907375?mt=12
     
  5. dianeoforegon macrumors 6502a

    dianeoforegon

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Location:
    Oregon
    #6
    TeamViewer is free for personal use. For business is way too expensive. After you purchase you get hit with upgrade pricing. I upgraded to version 11 last January and now they want $266 to upgrade to version 12.
     
  6. krazirob macrumors regular

    krazirob

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #7
    Screen sharing is built it. All you need is their Apple ID
     
  7. Paco II macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    #8
    As others have stated, you do not need their iCloud or Apple ID. Vnc is built right in. But if you prefer to pay for the convenience of not having to deal with port forwarding and such, check out Jump Desktop. Their server app is free, and you pay for their client apps. Works very well for me.
     
  8. NazgulRR macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    #9
    Just try not to open port 5900 to the world. Best to do it after you have VPNed or SSHed to the host machine.
     
  9. H2SO4 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #10
    Are you sure?
    The description, Apple Remote Desktop is the best way to manage the Mac computers on your network, says over your network. That’s not the same as over the internet. It sounds like there might be a little more to it?
     
  10. fischersd macrumors 601

    fischersd

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    #11
    It works great over the internet (again, depends on the bandwidth/latency on the route between you). I've used it to support family on several occasions.

    Just make sure the network admin on the target side does port forwarding (as noted previously you don't want to open up the native port - TCP 5900 - to the world). If this is for temporary use, make sure they remove that rule from their firewall after your use is done.
     
  11. H2SO4 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #12
    Just checking.
     
  12. fischersd macrumors 601

    fischersd

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    #13
    It really is just glorified VNC (just as Microsoft's remote desktop was actually the Citrix client). There's typically customizations you can do to tweak performance if the latency/bandwidth between the two points is constrained. If you're in the same country and both on broadband it shouldn't be an issue at all.
     
  13. krazirob macrumors regular

    krazirob

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #14
    you guys are over thinking this......its screen sharing that the MAC OS has already. All you need is their apple id. you input that into the screen share application and then it asks the person on the other end if you have permission to share a screen. Once they say yes then viola.......

    Screen share.jpeg
     
  14. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #15
    am so used to using teamviewer, but... krazirob is right, screen sharing app is pretty simple...
     
  15. Paco II macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    #16
    I thought that only worked when both computers were on the same network. That 'just works' over the internet as well?


     
  16. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #17
    It works, as long as the router’s firewall does not block it.

    When you enable screen sharing in System Preferences → Sharing, you allow any other computer to connect. The Apple ID is optional and merely an added convenience. When you enable Back to my Mac in iCloud preferences, it will send your hostname and IP address to Apple’s servers, so that when someone else types in your Apple ID into the Screen Sharing application, it will figure out the address for you.
     
  17. krazirob macrumors regular

    krazirob

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #18
    Yes what he just said. Really easy! I use it to connect to my moms computer who lives several states away when she is having problems figuring out how to format a word document or what ever she has issues with. I also use to help my wife when she is needing help on her computer while I am away on buisiness travel.
     
  18. Paco II macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    #19
    Does someone always need to be on the receiving end to approve, or if they approve once it will auto approve on future connects?
     
  19. krazirob macrumors regular

    krazirob

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #20
    they can choose to have you as their trusted contact if they want by inserting your name as a user in the sharing preferences.
     
  20. hallux macrumors 68030

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #21
    Can't you also initiate it using Messages? Ahh, yes, YOU CAN. Right-click their name in your contact list and select to ask them to share their screen. Provided, of course, that the other person's entry on your Messages contact list is tied to an Apple account that is logged into Message on their Mac.

    Messages for Mac: Share your screen or another user’s screen in Messages
     
  21. Paco II macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    #22
    Can connections be made via an iOS device using this approach?
     
  22. inarush macrumors member

    inarush

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Location:
    Ann Arbor MI
    #23
    Yes, I am - and this is based on personal experience over the last 40 months. ARD works quite good if both connections are reasonably fast.

    By the way, when I am accessing my office's Mac Pro, which has dual display, ARD allows me to control both screens at the same time, or even each screen separately. Pretty convenient.
     
  23. elf69 macrumors 68020

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #24
    It is free for 5 hours use.
    Once you reach 5 hours use it will log out out and back into the remote machine every 2 mins.

    I reached the limit and had to use another machine to help a friend.
    It will let you extend the time a bit buy signing up, still free and no money.
    Unknown how long the extension is though as just used another machine.

    Great program but cost too much.
     
  24. H2SO4 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #25
    Question. Does ARD have VPN functionality built in?
     

Share This Page