Is single link DVI adapter OK for 37" LCD TV?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by badgerman, Nov 3, 2008.

  1. badgerman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #1
    So I want to attatch my new allu MB to my Samsung 37" LCD (1366 x 768 resolution) via HDMI.

    I have a HDMI to DVI-D (dual link) cable from my old laptop, I would rather pay for a new HDMI to DVI-D (Single link) cable than the extra £70 for the mini display - DVI-D dual link adapter over the single link adapter.

    Will single link be OK for watching films on TV from MB?
     
  2. Philflow macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
  3. badgerman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #3
    Great stuff, is the dual link only for higher res LCDs?
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    Mostly the only displays that need them are 30" monitors... these typically have a resolution of 2560x1600. So in comparison, you have 1,049,088 pixels, and that has 4,096,000 pixels, or nearly four times as many. So you're correct -- it varies only with resolution. The physical size of the screen is irrelevant.

    For more specifics...

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_Visual_Interface

    (The actual cutoff between dual and single link DVI is more complicated, but practically almost every <30" display and every television falls shy of the requirements for dual link, and all the 30" monitors fall above it).
     
  5. BayouBengal macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Houston,TX
    #5
    Nice! I was wondering this too. Because $30 for an adapter is a lot better than $100. Hmm, may start watching Netflix on demand on my TV now unless Netflix gets a deal with Sony for the PS3 like they do for the XBox 360.
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    I've had my iMac on my LCD TV (same resolution as the OP's / 720p) for some time now, and I really enjoy it.

    Just a reminder, in case either of you aren't aware: As DVI does not carry an audio signal, when you use MDP -> DVI -> HDMI, the HDMI cable will not have audio on it. You need to plan for a separate audio cable (analog or digital) as well.
     
  7. badgerman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #7
    Yep just planned to use my 3.5mm jack for sound although I have optical (toslink) and a coaxial digital inputs in my amp can I get adapters for these to my mb?
     

Share This Page