Is Siri only not working for me?

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by skysailing, Jul 16, 2012.

  1. skysailing macrumors regular

    skysailing

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    #1
    Did the over the air update for Beta 3 and now Siri is like high or something. Every time she pops up, she turns off seconds later. What's the problem?
    [​IMG]
     
  2. r98266 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    #2
    Works fine for me, I recommend turning Siri off then back on OR tapping "Reset All Settings" and "Setup as new iPhone"

    It will just reset the Settings application and WILL keep all of your information. Just don't hit "Erase All Content and Settings." That's bad.. usually. ;)

    --Used to work as an Apple At-Home Advisor (iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch Tech Support)
     
  3. skysailing thread starter macrumors regular

    skysailing

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    #3
    Dear God I feel stupid. "Disable Siri" worked fine. Thanks a lot
     
  4. r98266 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    #4
    No problem. :)
     
  5. chrisu91 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #5
    Lucky. I've disabled and reenabled Siri, along with multiple soft resets to no avail. Currently restoring to see if that does it.
     
  6. prtcool1193 Suspended

    prtcool1193

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #6
    having the same problem!! I even restored! I'm going to try settings reset now though.
     
  7. r98266 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    #7
    Yeah, you can try calling Apple, but you'll most likely get the "Siri is still in beta" excuse.

    ----------

    Quick question, did you do a clean/fresh restore or did you do a Restore from Backup?
     
  8. bobreck macrumors newbie

    bobreck

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #8
    Siri is not working for me either on my 4s under beta 3. I can talk to her, but it just hangs at the microphone icon and the light spinning.
     
  9. r98266 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    #9
    Also noteworthy, if you started using Siri and didn't let the phone finish loading the result (shut off the phone, hit the home button to do something else, tapped on a notification that popped up, etc.) you may have to say "Cancel" to make Siri stop performing the previous task.

    --

    Currently running iOS 6 beta 3 on an AT&T iPhone 4S -- 64 GB, Black

    Updated to iOS 6 beta 3 using Over-The-Air update, absolutely no trouble using Siri. Even checked the weather.
     
  10. prtcool1193 Suspended

    prtcool1193

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #10
    THANKS SO MUCH !! it worked!!!!!
     
  11. r98266 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    #11
    Official Apple Troubleshooting Article:

    http://support.apple.com/kb/TS4079

    ----------

    You're very much welcome, I happened upon that solution myself when helping customers. It works more often than not.

    ----------

    What do you mean by "soft reset"? Home button and power button? If so, I don't recommend that, it can corrupt the file system and cause more problems. The only time that solution is warranted is when the phone is frozen or when it looks like the phone is dead and won't turn on (even though you've charged it).
     
  12. r98266 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    #12
    Glad to help.
     
  13. prtcool1193, Jul 16, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2012

    prtcool1193 Suspended

    prtcool1193

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #13
    I also just tried that trick on my first gen iPad which had been very slow lately and speedwise it has improved so much! once again, thanks!!!
     
  14. r98266 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    #14
    Posts like this make helping people worth it. :)
     
  15. ErikGrim macrumors 68040

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #15
    Same. Tried soft reset (not hard), turning siri on and off a couple of times, resetting all settings (had to do a lot of fixing changed settings, including creating new wallpapers).

    All to no avail. She just keeps spinning. :(
     
  16. retrospek macrumors 6502a

    retrospek

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    I've got the same issue since upgrading to Beta 3.

    I press the Siri Button - ask Siri my question - and then it doesn't do anything - except rotate the circle..
     
  17. bobreck macrumors newbie

    bobreck

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #17
    Ok, just did the Reset All Settings and she's working for me again.
     
  18. chrisu91 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #18
    Resetting all settings appeared to have worked for a while, but now Siri has gone back to not working again.
     
  19. ErikGrim macrumors 68040

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #19
    She is back to working for me again. Might be a server issue.
     
  20. Neopax macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    #20
    My Siri is not working on beta3 :-( reactivating does not fix the problem.. On the iPad Siri works well...
     
  21. retrospek macrumors 6502a

    retrospek

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #21
    I'm exactly the same - Siri works great on my iPad - but on my iPhone it just doesn't work anymore (since I've upgraded to Beta 3)

    I've tried resetting the Network Settings & Rebooting etc. but poor Siri will just not talk to me anymore :cool:
     
  22. Neopax, Jul 18, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2012

    Neopax macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    #22
    I have a theory... I read something about Siri token on the servers, who update every day. Maybe we just have to wait 24 hours and then she talks to us again.

    Siri worked at the morning, but had no iOS 6 features. I reactivated and nothing worked anymore. Downgrade to beta2 works, but on Beta 3 she has to ambition to talk to me. Let's wait 24 hours and we will see..
     
  23. k12g3, Jul 18, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2012

    k12g3 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    #23
    exactly what mine is doing. updated to beta 3 OTA and Siri just keeps spinning.

    Update: Did "reset all settings" and she is back. We'll see if this lasts.
     
  24. Neopax macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
  25. r98266 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    #25
    No, that's "Erase All Content and Settings"

    "Reset All Settings" just resets the Settings application.


    Tip - read farther up when I explained this the first time.
     

Share This Page