Is SP3 the problem? Can't even start the install.

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by mattluc, Nov 9, 2008.

  1. mattluc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    York, PA
    #1
    I'm trying to install XP using Boot Camp on Tiger, and once i get through all of the Boot Camp steps and then start the XP installation, i end up stuck at a DOS screen that is stuck at the line: [DR-DOS] A:\>

    Above, (after some gibberish) a seemingly important message of "No NTFS Volumes Found, exiting..." is shown. I have a picture of this but can't get it onto my computer.

    I'm trying to install SP3. Is that the problem? What else could be? :confused:

    I should let people know that i just had to restore my computer from a backup i made just in case something went wrong (which it did). The restoration has been shaky, and that whole story is long. Is it possible that something in that process messed this up?
     
  2. mattluc thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    York, PA
    #2
    I retraced my steps and think the XP cd may have been burnt wrong. I will update here after i fix the CD and try again.
     
  3. Hugbees macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #3
    I can't get SP3 to install either, it keeps saying insufficient space but I clearly have 60mb left...
     
  4. RITZFit macrumors 65816

    RITZFit

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    In my Corner
    #4
    i don't think a straight install of xp w/ sp3 will work. you need bootcamp 2.1 installed before the sp3 update will work. you might need to start w/ sp2
     
  5. mattluc thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    York, PA
    #5
    i got SP2 instead and did a proper burn. All is well, now (i'm actually posting from XP using Chrome (not yet available for Mac)!

    60mb isn't much space. I discovered in my Boot Camp partition that of the free space available, only half can be allotted for the new windows partition. (I had 18GB free, so i could only make my XP partition 9GB). I'm assuming this is because it moves some info back-and-forth during the partitioning. I don't know if that's where you're having the problem, but it at least serves as an example. You might need more than that 60mb for the temporary relocation of files.
     
  6. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #6
    Yea Boot Camp 2.1 Update must be installed in order for SP3 to even work. I had that problem once I installed SP2 via Boot Camp and tried to run the SP3 installer. No dice. Updated Boot Camp, it worked lol.
     
  7. Hugbees macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #7
    err I meant GB, not MB :p

    yeah I could see MB being a problem
     
  8. mattluc thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    York, PA
    #8
    hahaha, i guess that means you can blame SP3.
     
  9. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #9
    DR-DOS is not a Microsoft product...
     
  10. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #10
    That is really immaterial. More importantly, what is a CLI-based DOS doing in all this anyway if the OP is trying to install XP? What's the deal with the "A" Drive? It's completely unnecessary, and not part of any install process for BC.
     
  11. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #11
    I was wondering if it was a hacked version of XP...
     
  12. mattluc thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    York, PA
    #12
    It's from a college computer science program where we're granted some licenses and a specific (legal) place to d/l them. So yeah, they might be modified some way.
     

Share This Page