Carrier Is Sprint and Verizon iPhone 7+ the same model?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Needs, Sep 22, 2016.

  1. Needs, Sep 22, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2016

    Needs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    #1
    I managed to get a iPhone 7+ on Sprint carrier. I intend to pay full price and not be under any carrier. Is the Sprint phone gonna be fully unlocked?

    I will be using a AT&T / T-Mobile SIM card + overseas SIM card~

    Just want to clarify because people always say either T-Mobile or Verizon only.

    EDIT: oh, and do I need a Sprint account or something? (for reserve and pick up)
     
  2. vdor macrumors member

    vdor

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016
    #2
    It is fully unlocked. I did the same today, no Sprint account required to buy outright. I just stuck my T-Mobile SIM into the phone before turning it on and then got it up and running right away. If you visit the tech specs for the iPhone 7/7 Plus on Apple's site, you can see that both Verizon/Sprint models have the exact same CDMA and GSM antenna bands.
     
  3. Needs thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    #3
    Thank you for sharing!
    If it really is otherwise, I can just do a return on the spot... right? hahaha
     
  4. serialtoon macrumors 6502a

    serialtoon

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Location:
    Long Beach
    #4
    Did this exact thing today. Actually a couple hours ago. Bought the sprint model, removed sim and inserted my T-Mobile. All good
     
  5. vdor macrumors member

    vdor

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016
    #5
    Yes.
     
  6. Surfer13134 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Location:
    Florida
    #6
    But if you do this will the wifi calling and VOLTE work? I read somewhere that someone got a Verizon iPhone and he couldn't get those features with when he put his att SIM card in?
     
  7. vdor macrumors member

    vdor

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016
    #7
    I'm sure VOLTE works, but I haven't tried it yet. Wi-Fi Calling is working fine right now at home.
     
  8. Surfer13134 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Location:
    Florida
    #8
    That's good to know. Thanks
    --- Post Merged, Sep 22, 2016 ---
    Did they ask for any information for a sprint account? I was going through the order process online to pick up in store and it wants Verizon/Sprint wireless number and a social so Apple can check your account.
     
  9. Needs thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    #9
    Just to check, and if you remove your current T-Mobile SIM card and replaced it with any other SIM cards (such as AT&T), it will still continue to work... right?
     
  10. WilliamG macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #10
    It's unlocked. So it will work on any network.
     

Share This Page