Is text selection so bad in all KitKat's?

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by cube, Dec 6, 2014.

  1. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #1
    I was selecting some sentences on my tablet today. So hard. It totally sucks.
     
  2. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #2
    This is why i gave up on Android as a daily driver.
     
  3. Lloydbm41 macrumors 68040

    Lloydbm41

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Location:
    Central California
    #3
    And you know what is ironic? Text selection is worse on ios8! It is frustrating because it used to be the best. Now Android does a better job, and that isn't saying much!
     
  4. cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #4
    Thank you. I was thinking I would have to buy the maxiPad even if it doesn't have a flash card slot.
     
  5. burgman macrumors 65816

    burgman

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #5
    Agree I hate the text copy/paste on IOS8. Especially when it sticks on the screen
     
  6. cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #6
    Can you properly edit text in Windows tablets without using a mouse? Is that the only acceptable platform currently (in terms of functionality)?
     
  7. Shanghaichica macrumors 603

    Shanghaichica

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    It's still better than most of the android devices I've used. The S5/note 3 was ok and usable but it's not even worth it on the nexus 7 or tab pro 10.1.
     
  8. Stuntman06 macrumors 6502a

    Stuntman06

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Location:
    Metro Vancouver, B.C, Canada
    #8
    I actually think text selection is better on Android. It could be just personal preference or what you are used to.
     
  9. sunking101 macrumors 603

    sunking101

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    #9
    Text selection and copy/paste wasn't very good with iOS7 either. As for the Android method, once you get used to it I find it to be ok. The only thing I dislike is when deleting a lot of text, the cursor will suddenly speed up and delete far more than you intended.
     
  10. Oohara macrumors 68020

    Oohara

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    #10
    Yup. I love most things about my new 6 Plus but working with texts was a dream on m Note 2 compared to this.
     
  11. mi7chy macrumors 68040

    mi7chy

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    #11
    Ditto. On iOS 8.x like in Safari address bar I can't select text in the middle of a word but can only select beginning or end of word?
     
  12. JaySoul macrumors 68020

    JaySoul

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #12
    I agree, both Android and iOS are pretty awful right now. Bizarre, used to have no problems.
     
  13. tbayrgs macrumors 603

    tbayrgs

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    #13
    What, you mean like this?
     

    Attached Files:

  14. epicrayban macrumors 603

    epicrayban

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    #14
    I do, too.
     
  15. MasterRyu2011 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #15
    To the OP,

    what tablet are you using?
    what difficulties are you experiencing? (getting the selection highlight to show up? trimming the selection? copying/pasting?)

    Thanks.
     
  16. mi7chy macrumors 68040

    mi7chy

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    #16
    '.com' has a dedicated key so you would never need to correct it. Try selecting text inbetween 'forums', 'macrumors', 'forumdisplay', etc. like if you needed to correct a typo. You can't.
     
  17. MasterRyu2011 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #17
    Yes you can. Just move the sliders left and right to isolate that text.
     
  18. mi7chy macrumors 68040

    mi7chy

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    #18
    Wrong. Put 'dictiohary' in Safari address bar then try to put the text selector between 'h' and 'a' to delete 'h' and replace with 'n'. You can't. It only lets you put the selector at the beginning or end of 'dictiohary' then you have to backspace all the way to where you need to correct.

    Don't bother debating if you lack experience with both ecosystems.
     
  19. MasterRyu2011 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #19
    Ugh, yes you can still do that. You're confusing features. To do that, just put a cursor anywhere and then press and hold. You will now see a magnified circle and you can move the cursor to anywhere you want as long as you don't let go. It's not a great implementation. But it works.
     
  20. Renzatic Suspended

    Renzatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Location:
    Gramps, what the hell am I paying you for?
    #20
    I wouldn't say iOS8 is worse, but it sure as hell isn't any better. There have been plenty of times I've tried highlighting a word on a webpage, but end up fighting with the UI because it'll immediately grab the whole paragraph, then spaz out on me when I try to narrow the selection down to what I want.
     
  21. mi7chy macrumors 68040

    mi7chy

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    #21
    Text selection and magnifier don't even work consistently like if, for example, you were to do a search on yahoo.com search field and need to edit the input. You can't do anything but backspace from the end. Plus, magnifier just slows down workflow.

    Same annoyance as the keyboard always showing CAPS ON which makes it a pain when inputting strong passwords with combination of upper and lower cases.

    Apple should just mimic Android.
     
  22. MasterRyu2011, Dec 9, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2014

    MasterRyu2011 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #22
    I'm not disagreeing with you that Apple's implementation is bad. I think Android's better. But come on, don't spew misinformation like it's fact. Apple has these features; they're just poorly implemented.


    About the Caps: What do you mean always showing CAPS ON? You press the Caps button once and it only capitalizes the next letter and then it goes back to lowercase. Alternatively, you don't even need to press the Caps button; just swipe from the caps button to the letter you want and it automatically capitalizes it.
     
  23. mi7chy, Dec 9, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2014

    mi7chy macrumors 68040

    mi7chy

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    #23
    Try going to yahoo.com and do a search. You can't even edit the text at all. Inconsistent.

    I'm referring to the virtual keyboard always showing UPPER CASE when shift or caps lock isn't on. Why does it have to be different from the rest of the industry?
     
  24. tbayrgs, Dec 9, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2014

    tbayrgs macrumors 603

    tbayrgs

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    #24
    What's laughable is you chastising someone else for lack of experience when the only one looking foolish with their lack of experience is you. We've already shown you that it can be done without issue. Same goes for the shift key (have you even used iOS before??). You may not like the implementation in iOS but your inability to use it doesn't mean it doesn't work. :rolleyes:
     

    Attached Files:

  25. mi7chy macrumors 68040

    mi7chy

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    #25
    Nope. Doesn't behave the same on Safari iPad2 with iOS 8.1.1. It's fragmentation in iOS that behaves differently. Like I said inconsistent.

    Plus, your screen capture is showing what I'm referring to with virtual keyboard always showing UPPER CASE letters by default. With the rest of the industry, virtual keyboards show lower case when shift/caps is off and UPPER CASE when shift/caps is on.
     

Share This Page