Is that normal that my MBP starts in 64 bit?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by kidwithdimples, Jun 18, 2010.

  1. kidwithdimples macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    #1
    I was just wondering if all the MBPs start in 32 bit or 64 bit?

    [​IMG]

    Most of my processes are in 64 bit. Does it use more battery life?
     
  2. I'mAMac macrumors 6502a

    I'mAMac

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    In a Mac box
    #2
    Considering Snow Leopard is 64bit...yes its normal. It doesn't matter what machine you have if your OS is a 64bit OS it will run 64bit programs.
     
  3. runebinder macrumors 6502a

    runebinder

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #3
    What you want to find is if the Kernel is booting up in 64bit as by default it should be 32bit but 64bit apps will still run at 64
     
  4. bli625 macrumors 6502a

    bli625

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    #4
    This.
     
  5. djasterix macrumors 6502a

    djasterix

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    Paradise City
    #5
    Same boot at 32 and same at 64, but that doesn't mean that SL is running 32 bit, 64 bit apps always run at 64 bit...
     
  6. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #7
    From a practical standpoint, no, running 64-bit apps will not reduce your battery life.

    CPU-intensive applications will force greater battery usage, but that's the same whether you're running in 32-bit or 64-bit. However, you COULD argue that running an app in 64-bit mode means it's running more efficiently, finishing the process faster, and thus maybe even using LESS battery life overall.
     
  7. Libertine Lush macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    #8
    It's most likely you're running in 32bit mode. From what I've read, all MBP's come shipped in 32bit mode. As others have said, OSX will still run 64bit apps when available.

    To check if your kernel is 32 or 64bit, go to System Profiler. Choose Software and look at "64-bit Kernel and Extension" in the right window pane.
     
  8. kidwithdimples thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    #10
    Thanks guys. It looks like I am running on 32 bit.

    I know you're suppose to hold 6 and 4 when you start up the computer to get into the 64 bit mode. I don't think I ever done it.
     

Share This Page