Is the 15" Retina a choice?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Vox Populi, Nov 20, 2012.

1. Vox Populi macrumors newbie

Right now I'm trying to decide between getting a 15" Retina or waiting for the top level 27" iMac.

I'm a student film maker and I do a lot of work with Final Cut, Premiere and After Effects. Would the Macbook be able to handle this kind of work load? How much more powerful would the iMac be? Being a student, portability is important. But being a film maker, power is just as important.

If I were to get a Macbook, it would be BTO.
    16gb memory
    2.6ghz quad core i7
    256gb SDD

So what do you guys think? If you were in my position, do you think it would be better to wait for the upper level iMac or get a Macbook?

2. Michason macrumors newbie

If portability is important, why would you ever even consider the 27" iMac?

3. renault4 macrumors regular

Take the long view; sooner or later expect a 27" retina thunderbolt display mated to your 15 rMBP

4. MCAsan macrumors 601

MCAsan

If portability is a key requirement....then a maxed out BTO rMBP is what you need, not a stationary iMac (regardless of its performance). I got the 2.7 CPU in my rMBP so that I know I should not have any performance issues for the 3+ years I own the machine....I will never kick myself for purchasing a lesser machine.

You might be able to go an Apple store and try Final Cut on a rMBP to judge the performance for yourself. What might be acceptable to one person is not to another person.

Being a student, be dang sure to get the ed discount on the machine, Apple Care any any ATD you might get. ;)

5. bmunge macrumors regular