Is the 17 inch MBP the right computer for me?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Benguitar, Apr 2, 2009.

1. Benguitar Guest

Benguitar

So I have a mid 2007 Black MacBook, 2.16 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 200 GB HD. This computer has given me hell over the past 2 years I've had it. I believe it is because no one at Apple told me when I asked them that what I would be using it for would be too much for it to handle. I am a photographer that uses a Canon Rebel XSi so I have fairly large photos. I am also a musician so I do LOTS of recording and editing on my MacBook. I don't use any of Apple's professional Applications but I would really like to but I fear of totally "screwing" my MacBook. On another hand I am also a High School student that is enrolled in Apex virtual school so I do ALL of my work on my computer equaling lots of documents and research.

I would like a 17 inch screen because I would like to see my pictures with the highest quality available, I do not travel regularly but I do travel and every once and a while but I personally don't have a problem with taking a 17 inch laptop with me. Unless it is truly that big of a pain in the butt to take around.

My next computer MUST be a Pro computer seeing that Apple eliminated FireWire, and there is NO question about it. I. Need. FireWire. Because of my audio interface.

The Online Support Chat on Apple's website suggested just the 17 inch MBP with AppleCare and Logic Studio. Do you guys have any other suggestions? I am getting rather tired of calling and going to the Apple stores because this computer keeps screwing up and having to wait weeks to get it back.

2. Consultant macrumors G5

Consultant

I carry my 17" MBP around almost every day of the week. The 17" MBP weights the same as most 15" PC.

You get whatever works for you. Play around in the store to see if you like the size?

3. Benguitar thread starter Guest

Benguitar