Is the 2.8GHz MacBook Pro Retina worth the $220?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ehmjay, Jul 8, 2013.

1. ehmjay macrumors member

In the market for a new laptop, and pining for the MBP Retina. Now, obviously I'm going to keep waiting a little longer in hopes that they get the new processors of the MBA (though I'm guessing they're not going to do so during the summer while the student deal is on, sadly). But I'm curious, is it worth going from the 2.7GHz to the 2.8GHz for $220? I'd much rather put that $220 towards getting the bigger 768GB harddrive (especially since I wont be able to upgrade that easily myself).

I understand that 2.8 > 2.7, but I'd love to know *how much* better it is, and if it justifies the rather large price tag.

I am a video editor, and while most of the crazy heavy duty stuff I do at the office on a MacPro, having a nice beefy laptop for home is really helpful. That said I'm upgrading from an old 2.53 GHz i5 Unibody so it's already a nice step up.

2. bill-p macrumors 68000

Nope, not worth it.

Go for 768GB SSD.

In fact, in my opinions, if you can, save that $220 for an external Thunderbolt or USB 3.0 storage solution. Unless you want to keep everything compact.

3. fratey macrumors regular

It will lower your render times with roughly 4-5%. Is $220 worth 4-5% to you?

If I were you, I'd put the money toward the 768GB instead.

4. blackreplica macrumors member

I'm gonna go out on a limb here and say you would probably notice and appreciate the extra SSD capacity a lot more than the additional clockspeed on the processor. I vote 768GB SSD

5. takeshi74 macrumors 601

You answered your own question. Worth is always highly subjective no matter what the topic. Only you can say whether it's worth it to you or not.

Do the math. 2.7/2.8*100 = ~96%. Justify is also highly subjective. Is 4% more worth $220 to you?

6. falconeight Guest

falconeight