Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Elektrofone

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jul 5, 2010
I’m a designer/motion designer and my trusty Late 2013 MacBook Pro has been great but I’m wondering if it’s time for an upgrade.

I use a lot of Adobe software like After Effects, Premiere and Illustrator and I’m wondering if the performance gains are worth the cost of a new computer.

ZapNZs

macrumors 68020
Jan 23, 2017
It's a worthy upgrade for sure - how well does your current machine meet your needs? What areas would you like to see improvement? (e.g., battery life, portability, CPU performance, shorter export times, brighter screen, the P3 color gamut, etc.)

Elektrofone

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jul 5, 2010
It's a worthy upgrade for sure - how well does your current machine meet your needs? What areas would you like to see improvement? (e.g., battery life, portability, CPU performance, shorter export times, brighter screen, the P3 color gamut, etc.)

A brighter screen with better color is definitely something I would like since I do a lot of design work. Shorter export times would be nice too, but I don't know how much I should expect from a laptop. I would love to be able to use an iMac or Mac Pro for my work, but I need to be on-site for most of it these days.

New_Mac_Smell

macrumors 68000
Oct 17, 2016
Shanghai
Short answer - yes.

Long answer - only if you have the money, you likely won't notice much initial speed differences and will mostly have to evaluate on the 'feel/experience' of the new system. I wouldn't say it's worth it if you're stretching a budget, you'll likely end up disappointed and become one of those USB-C ranters or just generally looking for something wrong as reason to return. It is a better machine though, by about 4 years.

Reactions: HenryDJP

Elektrofone

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jul 5, 2010
Short answer - yes.