Is the 80GB Intel X25-M SSD large enough?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by urxtream, Apr 16, 2010.

1. urxtream macrumors newbie

I'm someone who's never used a Mac before and am planning on getting a 17 MBP with i7 with an SSD drive.

Seems like the Intel X25-M SSD is very much recommended by users on this forum, I thought I'd give it a shot since I like my computer to be snappy ;)

Since I've never used OSX or a Mac before, I'm planning on running Windows Vista in Parallel. I know the Intel X25-M SSD comes in 160GB but that's way too expensive for me. So my question is, would 80GB be enough to hold both operating systems and the installations of applications like MS Office, Photoshop, iTunes and a few others? and then I'll store data on either a Time Capsule or an external hard drive.

Thanks in advance.

2. hypermog macrumors regular

It just depends on what you are using it for and what your workflow is. If you're like me, with about 12 gigs of MP3s, 8 GB of pictures, and little else, it totally works. If on the other hand you are using it for editing many large video files, you will need something bigger.

3. urxtream thread starter macrumors newbie

It's mainly for web surfing, occasional photo editing. Nothing intensive really.

4. zodqyv macrumors regular

I am not a hard drive hog but you can fill up 80GB way too quick these days. At the moment I am using Intel 160 G2s in all my MacBooks/MacBook Pros. Plenty of room for ordinary use, and the 160 controllers are twice as quick as what the 80 is equipped with.

5. urxtream thread starter macrumors newbie

For the price of the 160GB G2, I could actually upgrade my hard drive to the 256 SSD on the Apple Store. Which would you recommend? :confused:

6. zodqyv macrumors regular

At the moment the Intel G2 is the fastest and most rock solid SSD on the market. The Samsung drives Apple sells are not very impressive by comparison, but better than spinning hard discs.