Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

linkmon99

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 6, 2017
Hi guys, so right now I'm a high school student soon to be entering college, and I know a good wifi connection is a big deal. Currently at my home we have a Ubee DVW326 Modem which supplies internet to the whole house, but it definitely slacks upstairs and in the basement. I just recently bought an Imac which I plan to put in the basement, but fear that the connection will be poor. Also, since I plan to bring the Imac to college, I assume I'll need some sort of extender to bring with me there too?!

I'm not well educated in this router stuff, but from what I can tell the apple airport series are routers which help to extend the wifi range and also up the speed? This sounds perfect for me for the basement and my college dorm, but I'm kind of unsure what model to buy, if any.

I know there is the airport express, extreme, and the time capsule. The time capsule seems cool because I can backup my files, but would an external SSD just be better? If that's the case, should I just get the express? But one issue I found with all of these airport devices (according to some people) is that they fail after a year for some reason, which seems worrisome.

Based on this information, my question is, should I get an airport device (and which one) or should I get something totally different (and what do you recommend if so?)

Sorry that this is so much but I'm confused and can really use the help! :)

Fishrrman

macrumors Penryn
Feb 20, 2009
The last version of the Airport Extreme is now at least 3 (or is it 4?) years old, and Apple seems to have disbanded the Airport development team. I'm going to -guess- that at some point in the future, it's going to be deemed "obsolete" by Apple and will no longer be supported by software updates.