Is the Apple supplied DDR3 for 2009/2010 Mac Pro Registered or Unregistered?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Inconsequential, Apr 30, 2011.

  1. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #1
    Just need confirmation of this:

    I have 6Gb of Apple supplied memory that was in my Mac Pro.

    I'm planning on making an Un-Raid server with AMD Athlon chips.

    For ECC to be enabled the DIMMs have to be un-registered and un-buffered.

    I know they are un-buffered, but if they are un-registered is the issue.

    I gather sub 8Gb sticks are un-registered, but 8Gb+ are?

    Given that these are 2Gb sticks (3x2Gb) are they registered or not!?

    Cheers!
     
  2. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Most certainly unregistered. My 2009 shipped with 6x2GB and those are unregistered chips. I don't expect any of the Apple ones to be registered but the 8GB sticks.
     
  3. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #3
    This is correct.
     
  4. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #4
    Just don't fill out the forms that are included. Viola, not registered:p
     
  5. Inconsequential thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #5
    Thanks guys!
     

Share This Page