Is the base model mac mini actually a quad core?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by sampers, Nov 28, 2011.

  1. sampers macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Location:
    Belgium
    #1
    Hi,

    Recently I've bought a mac mini 2,3Ghz i5 base model 2011.
    and i really love it, only does it freeze up sometimes. So now I keep the activity monitor in front, to look for the cause. (with actually doesn't show, i think it's maybe apple id related. ass i had the same thing with my iMac with i sold.

    but now when looking at the activity monitor it shows 4 cores doing work?

    although the system profiler states it has 2.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. wrinkster22 macrumors 68030

    wrinkster22

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto
    #3
    virtual cores. The base is dual core. Only the server is quad core.
     
  3. sampers thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Location:
    Belgium
    #4
    yeah, apple's website does list that this way. so I know it really is, but what is a virtual core?
     
  4. wrinkster22 macrumors 68030

    wrinkster22

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto
    #5
    i5 and i7 can hyper thread and use virtual cores when the built in ones are under a lot of stress
     
  5. Ice Dragon macrumors 6502a

    Ice Dragon

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #6
    Why does it freeze? How much memory do you have? If you have only 2, upgrade to a minimum of 4, recommended to 8.
     
  6. sampers thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Location:
    Belgium
    #7
    yeah, was already thinking of doing that!

    I also find it being slow when surfing. the safari web content process with lot's of threads. but especially with chrome. and when it's 'freezing up' it's taking a lot of time to go in mission control,...

    sounds cool that hyper threading, thanks for the info!.
     
  7. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #8
    Should not freeze.

    Show "ALL PROCESSES" instead of my processes.
    Use Flash Blocker.
     
  8. sampers thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Location:
    Belgium
    #9
    how is it that, a process can be at 100% pro cent, or near to it. and the %user or %system keep giving lower values?
     

    Attached Files:

  9. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #10
    The %user and %system at the bottom is out of 100% but combines the 4 cores (every core is 25%). So a process of using 100%, or 1 core, will occupy 25% of the CPU. You can have processes run close to 400% on your mini (all 4 cores in use)
     
  10. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #11
    Thread management in software is very inefficient. HT (Hyper-threading) is thread management in hardware.

    Second generation Core iX processors (Sandy Bridge) have also hardware based memory management for virtual machines (EPTs), which make virtual machines on these processors faster, if the VM-software uses EPTs (such as VMware Fusion v3.x.x or newer).
     
  11. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #12
    Try updating to the new version of Safari that was just released this afternoon. That fixed a lot of the freezeups and high RAM usage for me.
     
  12. sampers thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Location:
    Belgium
    #13
    @ blevins321: check! curious to see if it changes anything.

    @ Mr. Retrofire & The-Pro : Thanks!
     

Share This Page