Is the dual 2.3GHz PowerMac Liquid Cooled?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by ITguy2016, Oct 13, 2016.

  1. ITguy2016 Suspended

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    #1
    Considering the purchase of a dual 2.3GHz PowerMac G5. Are either version liquid cooled? I didn't see LCS specifically called out on EveryMac for the 2.3GHz systems (I did for the 2.7GHz system). If the system is liquid cooled I'll probably pass as I already have an LCS cooled system (2.7GHz) and I want to avoid any more.
     
  2. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #2
    No it is not, the only liquid cooled models are the 2.7GHz DP (Early 2005), the 2.5GHz DP (Early 2005), and the 2.5GHz QP (Late 2005). The Quad being the most reliable of the 3.
     
  3. chibiterasu, Oct 13, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2016

    chibiterasu macrumors 6502

    chibiterasu

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Location:
    London, The United Kingdom
    #3
    As already said its not LC, (I just wanted to chip in) I really like mine and the air cooling is why I chose it (I also needed PCI-X for some SCSI cards) You may know this already but the dual 2.3 DP only supports AGP and DDR ram compared to PCI-E and DDR2 ram in your dual 2.7 or 2.3 DC (edit: but yours might be a DC) but with a couple of upgrades can still be a fast Power Mac!
     
  4. ITguy2016 thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    #4
    Thanks for the information guys. Sounds like something I'll want to pick up.
     
  5. jdasikainen macrumors 6502

    jdasikainen

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Location:
    Bald Knob Arkansas
    #5
    i didn't know that any ppc g5 used a pci graphics card pretty cool.
     
  6. ITguy2016 thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    #6
    To my knowledge no PowerMac G5 used PCI graphics. They only used AGP and PCIe.
     
  7. chibiterasu, Oct 14, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2016

    chibiterasu macrumors 6502

    chibiterasu

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Location:
    London, The United Kingdom
    #7
    I thought this as well until this evening.


    As it turns out you can use a ATI Radeon 9200 PCI card in any G5 that has PCI-X slots, however it's quite an old card and using a better graphics card that supports dual DVI (unlike the FX 5200 with its one ADC and one DVI) would probably be a better option. (Unless you have an ADC monitor or that very expensive converter box)

    Edit: or you could even have many displays hooked up if needed!
     

Share This Page