Is the FoxNews App installing itself?

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by qtrim, Oct 14, 2015.

  1. qtrim, Oct 14, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2015

    qtrim macrumors regular

    qtrim

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    #1
    I like to read a variety of news to get all sides. So for news on my iPhone running iOS9.0.2, I have an 'add to home screen' shortcuts to CNN.com home page. CNN works as normal, touching the home screen shortcut opens Safari and takes me to the mobile version of CNN, without the ads, since I use Blockr.

    However, when I browse to FoxNews.com home page and create a shortcut by choosing 'add to home screen' the next time I launch that, it doesn't launch safari, it launches what appears to be its own app, with no Safari interface at all, plus with all the ads. It does this even though I do not have the FoxNews app installed. You can see from the app switcher screen shot that it is running in addition to Safari.

    How is that possible? And how can I stop that from happening.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #2
    The app is not installing itself. What is happening, is the mobile view of the site is being shown.
     
  3. APlotdevice, Oct 14, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2015

    APlotdevice macrumors 68040

    APlotdevice

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    #3
    This is actually a long forgotten feature of iOS: The Web App.

    You see, despite being famous for it, iOS didn't originally have an app store with "native apps" (that was officially introduced in 2.0). Instead the idea was to have web-based applets, which you could launch from your home screen. Kinda like what ChromeOS would do later on.
     
  4. Eau Rouge macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    #4
    Yup. FT.com does this in order to skirt the cut that would otherwise go to Apple for in app subscription purchases.
     
  5. qtrim thread starter macrumors regular

    qtrim

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    #5
    i wonder why Safari content blockers don't work on web apps?
     
  6. APlotdevice macrumors 68040

    APlotdevice

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    #6
    They technically don't run in Safari, just webkit.
     

Share This Page