Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

DAKnits

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 9, 2008
First, I have to admit I am totally new to this world. For use at the gym, I was given a ipod Nano 3g 4gb for the Holidays which is the first time I've ever seen an ipod. :eek: I was at the Apple store intending on exchanging it for the 8gb model for the extra $50 when I was "introduced" to the iphone by an employee there. I am a total internet junkie, so the prospect of having the internet, an ipod, and a phone all-in-one is very appealing, plus I really like the map features and all the cool extras. I also like the idea of not having to wear two devices at the gym, both an ipod and a phone (which I have to have on me in case my daughter's school calls. I'll only be at the gym for an hour, three days a week at most, so is this reason enough to get the iphone at this point? I would also play with it while waiting for my daughter at ballet and gymnastics, but obviously this is hardly a necessity.

I am a current ATT user, and would only choose the additional $20/month plan. I currently use the Motorola Razor phone and really like how little it is, so the size of the iphone a negative for me. Eventually I know that I will get one, but since I don't *need* one right now, I'm wondering if I should wait the 6 months to a year for the newer/improved model.

So ... do I keep the iphone I just bought (I haven't opened the box yet), or do I return it, and instead of investing $200 in a Nano, should I just get a shuffle for the limited purpose I need it for at the gym until I do get an iphone? :confused: If I return the iphone, is the Nano worth the extra money over the shuffle, even if I end up getting the iphone within 6 months to a year?