Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

malibuboats91

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 30, 2011
Hi everyone. I was always one who buys iPhones on release day every year. That trend ended last year when I decided I wasn't going to get the 7 plus, but ended up caving around Christmas. I was perfectly content with my iPhone 7 but it seems like every software update is slowing it down more and more. I did a clean install and it helped, but I'm encountering a lot of issues yet. Now I am in the same situation and I'm looking for some insight.

I paid full price for my 7+ so right now selling on Swappa considering fees, shipping, etc. I'll be losing about $497. Then the plan is to go on an AT&T next agreement which would run my $42/mo. Financially I can afford it, but realistically is it worth the expense? I'm an accountant so my phone primarily sits on my desk while I listen to music and occasionally look at it. I've seen a few posts about people complaining about not being able to unlock it while on desks, so that is one reservation I have other than cost. Other than having the latest and greatest phone, my other draws would be that it's quicker, has a better camera (I take a lot of pictures of cars) and it's different from what I've been using for the past five years. What do you think? Should I 'treat myself' and go get one or am I better off holding out and dealing with my laggy phone? Thanks!

macher

macrumors 68040
Oct 13, 2012
Hi everyone. I am one that buys iPhones on release day every year. That trend ended last year when I decided I wasn't going to get the 7 plus, but ended up caving around Christmas. I was perfectly content with my iPhone 7 but it seems like every software update is slowing it down more and more. I did a clean install and it helped, but I'm encountering a lot of issues yet. Now I am in the same situation and I'm looking for some insight.