Is the latest 160GB ATV still an IDE HDD?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by acosmichippo, Dec 25, 2009.

  1. acosmichippo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    #1
    I assume so, but haven't seen anyone say specifically.
     
  2. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Calif
  3. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #4
    How come there still shipping IDE'S? Is it a price thing?
     
  4. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Calif
    #5
    They probably don't want people upgrading drives and having 640GB ~ 1TB ATV's.
     
  5. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
  6. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #7
    Doubtful. It's a "we've never updated the hardware in this product" thing. The next version will likely use SATA. Apple doesn't normally make minor modifications to their hardware. It's a full model update or nothing.
     
  7. porter01 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Location:
    La Jolla, CA
    #8
    agreed. unless ur talking about flagship products like the mbp
     
  8. acosmichippo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    #9
    The problem i have with the current platform is more and more lag with every update. It seems with every click of my remote i have to wait at least two seconds to get to the next menu. I figured if i were able to put in a 7200RPM SATA HDD it might help a bit.

    Anyway, i suspect the real problem is the 256MB of RAM holding the current 3.0 software. It reminds me a lot of the v1 iphone and the 2.0 update. The v1 was never as zippy after that.

    So if nothing else, i'm hoping for a hardware refresh just to improve the user experience... and perhaps add 1080p capability.
     
  9. acosmichippo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    #10
    Well, after restoring the unit multiple times with no change in responsiveness, and running the built-in diagnostics a few times, I ended up taking it back to Best Buy. Brought back a brand-new 160GB version, and it is working much better. Nowhere near the lag i was experiencing with the last one. Obviously the hardware is all the same, so i guess there must have been some kind of bad hardware in it.

    Regardless, a beefed up appleTV this year would be nice. I wanna play 1080p, dammit.
     
  10. sapporobaby macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #11
    I just performed a hardware refresh. Sold my ATV and bought a Mac Mini. Could not be happier. :)
     
  11. MacModMachine macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #12
    im strongly thinking about this also....

    the apple tv runs hot, they fail easily too, i use mine 3 hours a day.
     
  12. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #13
    If only the ATV's Front Row could be run on a Mini....

    Oh, and then there's that single audio port of the Mini...

    It's just not a good time for Apple devices.
     

Share This Page