Is the Mac book pro right for me?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by kiznar, Jun 8, 2012.

1. kiznar macrumors newbie

Well I'm considering 2 options. I want to get back into Web design. I also play games such as world of warcraft, Diablo 3, league of legends, Shyrim. Can the Mac book pro 17 inch handle these games? I also drive a truck for a living will vibration really hurt the laptop? Sorry for spelling I'm on my phone.
    I'll go with the solid state drive no moving parts.

2. sweetbrat macrumors 65816

sweetbrat

I don't play games, so I can't answer about that. But if you want an SSD, you're better off purchasing one separately and installing it in the MBP yourself. Installing an SSD is easy, you'll save a nice amount of cash, and you can either put the HDD in an optibay to replace the optical drive (if you don't need it) or use it as an external drive.

3. FastEddiebags macrumors 6502

The 17 can definitely handle these games since the 15 in handles them well. Maybe upgrade the ram to 8gb or 16.

4. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

yusukeaoki

Yes they can handle them.
    However, in a low to medium quality.
    Especially for Skyrim, the 17in wont be able to handle it either.
    If you're really into gaming, buy a gaming PC.

The vibration should be fine but drops inside the vehicle can still hurt.
    Put it inside the Speck SeeThru case and a soft sleeve when inside the car.

5. Rizzm macrumors 6502a

I'd definitely wait for the refresh. The graphics cards are bound to get an upgrade.

Also configure the cheapest model you can as far as ram and hard drive. Install your own parts to save money.

6. puma2 macrumors newbie

Playing games no a pro is hard, the processor peaks, the fans blow full blast and you have to use low settings. By the time your done playing you can fry an egg on it.

7. kiznar thread starter macrumors newbie