Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Shinrouen

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 28, 2017
Tucson, AZ
Hi there,

I'm trying to get some feedback on whether the Mac Mini would be the right choice for my computing needs. I currently use a 6th gen Core i7 Windows 10 desktop along with a 13-inch Macbook Air Early 2015 1.6 i5 with 4GB of RAM. The user friendliness of the Mac OSX system and the lack of computer issues has pushed me away from the Windows scene and I would like to add a Mac desktop to the home office.

I work as a consultant and my daily routine uses are tied to Outlook, Word, Excel, Powerpoint and Chrome (40 or so tabs). It is not out of the ordinary for me to have two Chrome windows open side-by-side with each window having 20-30 tabs. I will need to start doing some light video editing work. 1080p will probably be the highest resolution I need to go as I don't foresee using 4K. I predominantly will be filming speaking engagements and editing with visuals before uploading it online. I'm currently using a 32" curved monitor running at 1920x1080 resolution. In the future I would like to upgrade to a 34" 4K monitor.

Planned Build
3.2GHz 8th i7
8GB DDR (will self-upgrade to 16GB)
256GB SSD

My understanding is that I can probably get away with the i5 but I'm thinking about future-proofing so that I don't have potential future bottlenecks. I'll be offloading projects onto an external HDD and will only keep my primary pipeline projects on the computer so i don't think I'll need more than 256GB SSD.

Your thoughts are greatly appreciated.

archer75

macrumors 68040
Jan 26, 2005
Oregon
For your needs i7 all the way, no doubt. And upgrade to 32gb.

Just with our daily programs open my mini shows using 14gb of ram. And you're using way more tabs than I use.

Last edited:

Fishrrman

macrumors Penryn
Feb 20, 2009
I think the i5 would do well enough.