Is the mac pro powerful enough?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by chrono1081, Mar 21, 2008.

  1. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #1
    I need portability so I was looking at a macbook pro but my question is is it powerful enough for some 3ds max and logic express work?

    The configuration I was looking at was the 15 inch 2.5 or 2.6 with 4 gb ram, and the 200gb 7200 hard drive. Itll be hooked up to an external monitor and most of my files are hooked up to external harddrives.

    Oops sorry meant to say macbook pro!
     
  2. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #2
    So, the MacBook Pro, not the Mac Pro (which is an octo-core Xeon-based desktop tower). ;)

    Yes, I'd say it'd be plenty powerful, though less so for rendering. Also, I believe you'll need to run 3ds max in Windows natively (not in Fusion or Parallels) for hardware support, which won't exactly be the most convenient thing on earth.
     
  3. new-Mac-owner macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    #3
    I think your talking about macbook pro right? if so I would go with 500gb hd or 450 at 7200 rpm and 4 gb ram 2.6 would be good . You should be fine with what yo have listed.:apple:
     
  4. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #4
    As far as I know, the Mac Pro is the industry standard for 3D and Logic Pro. If it wasn't a Mac Pro then I'd be worried.
     
  5. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #5
    For Logic Pro, yes. Not for 3D so much. 3D is mostly the territory of PCs (running Windows or Linux) nowadays.
     
  6. chrono1081 thread starter macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #6
    Argh!

    I just bought my first mac and I have buyers remorse lol. (Im sure that will go away once I receive it.)

    I got the 15 inch macbook pro, 2.5 ghz (I couldnt see spending for the 2.6), 512 vid card, 4 gb of ram (bought not from apple), the 200gb 7500 rpm harddrive and a case.
     
  7. pknz macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
    #7
    As others have pointed out we assume you mean MacBook Pro. Am I right?
     
  8. chrono1081 thread starter macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #8
    Oops! Yes I meant macbook pro. I dont know why the word book keeps eluding me.
     
  9. fredrickyoon macrumors regular

    fredrickyoon

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Seoul, South Korea
    #9
    For everyday use, depending on what you'll be doing, it suffices for me completely.
     

Share This Page