Is the MacBook Pro what I should buy?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by EatsRainbows, Jun 18, 2011.

1. EatsRainbows macrumors newbie

I'm a student and i am contemplating a MacBook Pro for my first Mac.
    Im thinking of purchasing 13", 2.7Ghz, 8Gb RAM, with a 500 or 750Gb HD. or a maxed out MBA.

My activities on my current PC include: downloading and watching movies, listening to music, researching and writing essays, and surfing the web, nothing to processor intensive.

any opinions?

2. h00ligan macrumors 68030

Skip both.

Get the base 13" and add your own ssd.. cheaper than the maxxed 13" and way faster in day to day for 'student' activities.

Macbook air, who knows.. we have no idea how it will perform.. but while the weight is nice, a lb isn't likely to make or break your back.

If you're like every student I've known.. well.. you will need the power to last, so why get a machine that isn't as fast as it could be when you have to hang onto it for a while? (air)

3. snaky69 macrumors 603

An iPad has enough processing power for you.

I'd personally go with baseline macbook pro, you don't need 8GB of ram, nor do you need the 2.7ghz processor(the difference in speed would be completely unnoticable for your use). If you insist on having more hard drive, buy a bigger one and install it yourself, keep the stock apple drive in an enclosure for backups.

4. ahdickter macrumors 6502

An MBA would also suit you extremely well. The new ULV Sandy Bridge MBA's should set you up for several years to come.

5. 2hvy4grvty macrumors 6502

I think the 2.3 -> 2.7 is one of the worst upgrades you can buy. You're looking at a 10% benchmark performance increase, which translates to less than 5% real world performance increase, and it comes with more heat, less battery life, and a loss of $300.