Is the MacBook Similar to the iPhone? (Missing Key Features)?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Vandam500, Jan 14, 2009.

1. Vandam500 macrumors 68000

Vandam500

I currently have an iPhone 3G and I love it to death even though it is missing regular features such as Video Recording, MMS, Voice and Speed Dial, Copy Paste,etc. In my home we have 2 computers and 1 laptop, all are PC's. I was wondering on getting the new 13" Macbook and just wanted to know if it was like the iPhone, in the sense that its missing common features or does it really have everything you need?

BTW: I'm currently a college student majoring in Computer Engineering if that helps

2. DeusInvictus7 macrumors 68020

Well, what do you NEED? I mean, ever since I've had my iPhone, so, 1.5 years, I don't think I've ever REALLY needed the features you stated. Sure, they would have been nice to have just in case, but I never needed to really use them.

Now for the MacBook, the only thing I could really see someone NEEDING is firewire...but other than that...and a matte screen for some :p

But really, it's up to you to decide if what the MacBook has is what you want/need. That's what it comes down to.

3. svndmvn Guest

Apple's stuff has always been about the software, ease of use, etc.
    It usually comes down to what you need. If you're talking about the white macbooks, even though they have FireWire, they are kind of outdated and are suspect to leave the Apple line. If you're talking about the new Aluminum Macbooks, of course, they lack a matte option, and firewire, compared to better Apple current or old portables. Compared to other portables they are quite good in my opinion. Most of the others are glossy, don't have a backlit keyboard(which you have if you choose the pricier 2.4GHz), and don't have firewire.