Is the MBA powerful enough for Software development?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Yorrow, Jul 20, 2013.

1. Yorrow macrumors newbie

Hi everyone,

I've been reading reviews and threads for days now, and I still don't really know what to do and what to think. I got some answers, but not enough.

I'm currently studying software development and I will do that for at least 3 more years. I will have several internships and I hope I will be able to work on personal project sometime in those 3 years. I'm not sure what kind of things I will have to do, it could be web development, mobile app development or really anything including heavy stuff.

I already own an iMac from late 2009, the 27" base model (3.06GHz C2D with 4Go of Ram only), and I love it so much that I don't even want to think about buying something else than a MacBook. I plan on doing some iOS development at least on my free time, so it tends to confirm my will.

So here are the options I have, all around the same price :
    - the high-end 13" MBA with i7, 8gb ram and 256gb (not enough money for more)
    - the NEXT (Haswell) first 13" rMBP with a better CPU (if the price stays the same)
    - the NEXT (Haswell) second 13" rMBP with no upgrade. (if the price stays the same, again)

I've read almost everywhere that the rMBP is "soooo much better" because of it's screen, but if it's the only thing it does better than a MBA, I'm not interested. I've played with it a bit at the Apple Store and haven't found it was that astounding or even just necessary.

Here is my question : would the MBA be good enough to do all kind of software development ? What could I possibly miss ?
    And if you think that the first rMBP without upgrade or the MBA with i5 would also be good enough, I would consider those options too.