Is the MBP 13 inch good enough for Xcode development?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Glutenbob, Mar 6, 2012.

  1. Glutenbob macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    #1
    I am talking about the low end 13 inch, i5 2.4ghz dual core processor with 4GB of RAM.

    Or should I invest in one of the 15 or 17 inch quad core models?
     
  2. MacaDroid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    #2
    What type of development are you planning on doing?
     
  3. Glutenbob thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    #3
    Just regular iphone/ipad app stuff. I want to make a 2D platformer with ither Cocos2D or OpenGL ES by the end of the year. Most of my work will be apps that use openGL ES.
     
  4. MacaDroid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    #4
    I think the 13" model would be fine for that, but if you can shell out the money just get the 15".
     
  5. ninja2000 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #5
    it will be fine performance wise.

    But... Are you planning on programming using the laptops screen or an external LCD? I do some light work on my 13" but the 1280x800 screen is a killer. even 1440x900 is difficult. I mostly work at my desk with an external @ 1080p which is perfect for me
     
  6. azentropy macrumors 68000

    azentropy

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    Surprise
    #6
    Definitely performance wise. But as others have echoed the display is small.

    Rather than springing the extra $$ for a 15 inch, which is still small, you can get a great 24" IPS monitor for $300. That way you have a portable when you need it, but when docked you get a much bigger screen.
     
  7. Glutenbob thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    #7
    I have a 23inch ASUS monitor that I can connect to. So I think im set. Thanks for the help guys.
     
  8. Menge macrumors 6502a

    Menge

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #8
    I use a 13" MBP to program in Xcode and it's fine. The only thing I do is add 8GB of RAM to it so it doesn't choke when I have Photoshop + Xcode + Instruments + iOS Simulator + Firefox + iTunes + Twitterrific open :p
     

Share This Page