Is the new 2011 13" mbp cooler?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jama12uk, Mar 2, 2011.

1. jama12uk macrumors newbie

I have been holding back on the trigger for buying my first apple product for a couple of months now. I am a student in a final year of uni and would like to take advantage of the apple educational discount (UK students get an amazing deal) before I graduate.
    I purchased a base 11.6 air and used it for a week or so. I couldn't make my mind up whether the screen was large enough or not and decided that I would return it as would opt for 4 gigs of ram to future-proof my purchase as much as possible. My needs are simple I do no video editing and only occasional cropping of photos and adjusting brightness and red-eye etc. I decided to wait for the imminent mbp update hoping to be blown away but I wan't I would have liked a higher resolution screen to view photos etc. The new pro seems much better value than the air and the main thing holding me off the purchase is the heat issues that many reports suggest are present. The air, for the short period of time I owned it ran very very cool to the touch. As I will never use the laptop for video editing or gaming I don't imagine the processor will get anywhere near maxed out ever. A friend has a 2009 pro which feels hot to use on the lap, is this 2011 generation cooler. I am more than happy to purchase a ssd for the pro as the air was so snappy, will this reduce the heat output dramatically? I don't want something that is going to get really hot on my lap.

(The 13" mba is not an option because of price).

Thanks

2. AppleGoat macrumors 6502a

According to laptopmag.com

2011 13" 2.3ghz i5

Heat - Touchpad: 80 degrees F
    Heat - G+H Keys: 90 degrees F
    Heat - Bottom: 90 degrees F

2010 13" 2.4ghz Core2Duo

Heat - Touchpad: 82 degrees F
    Heat - G+H Keys: 92 degrees F
    Heat - Bottom: 96 degrees F

3. jama12uk thread starter macrumors newbie